West Zone cruise past North to win Deodhar Trophy

West Zone cruise past North to win Deodhar Trophy

West Zone cruise past North to win Deodhar Trophy

A professional batting performance by West Zone helped them clinch the Deodhar Trophy as they cruised to a comfortable five-wicket victory over North Zone in the final here today.

Put into bat, North Zone made a commendable 289 for eight in 50 overs courtesy Unmukt Chand's scratchy 88 and Yuvraj Singh's useful 67.

In reply, Ambati Rayudu anchored the chase with a well-made unbeaten 78 as West successfully reached the target in 48.2 overs.

It was skipper Parthiv Patel, who started the chase in right earnest hitting 52-ball-58 while Kedar Jadhav with a punishing knock of 57 off only 43 deliveries also played his part to perfection. Young Manprit Juneja (56) also hit a half century as a collective effort by the batsmen was responsible in the title triumph despite poor bowling and shoddy fielding effort.

North captain Gautam Gambhir's ploy of opening the bowling with young off-spinner Parveez Rasool worked partially as he got rid of Vijay Zol who was adjudged leg-before trying to play the sweep shot.

However Parthiv and his statemate Juneja added 84 runs for the second wicket in 14 overs. While Parthiv found the gaps with ease hitting Rasool for three boundaries in an over, Juneja also looked solid as he punished the loose balls.

Parthiv hit eight fours and a six off a full-toss bowled by Yuvraj. Juneja also got into the act as he hit five fours -- three off Manpreet Gony and two off Rasool as the North bowlers leaked a lot of runs. Once Parthiv was caught at mid-wicket off Amit Mishra's bowling but Juneja hit the India discard leggie for a big six.