Dissension in Bihar BJP, 3 ministers skip executive meet

Dissension in the Bihar BJP was evident today with three ministers and senior leaders skipping the crucial two-day state executive meeting of the party which was inaugurated by Arun Jaitley here today.

BJP ministers Ashwani Choubey, Chandramohan Rai and Giriraj Singh, Deputy Speaker Amrendra Pratap Singh and former union minister C P Thakur skipped the meeting.

Dissension has been simmering in the state BJP with a section of its leaders opposed to Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi 'hijacking' the party venting their grievances to the party central leadership.

Thakur and others had met party president Rajnath Singh recently to protest the formation of a party team in the state under Modi's protege Mangal Pandey.
Some key leaders had held a meeting last night at the residence of former chairman of the Legislative Council Tarakant Jha.

Those who went to Jha's residence included formerC P Thakur, Animal Husbandry Minister Giriraj Singh, Deputy Speaker Amrendra Pratap Singh and senior party leader Satnarayan Arya.

But, Arya was spotted at the meet today.When contacted, Amrendra Pratap Singh said he did not attend the meeting due to personal reasons.

Thakur, Singh, Choubey and Rai could not be reached as their mobile phones were switched off.

State party president Mangal Pandey refused to comment on the absence of ministers and leaders.

Seeking to play down the matter, BJP national spokesman Shahnawaz Hussain told reporters "these leaders are busy with some programmes and will be coming tomorrow."

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0