Council polls: Will Congress retain seat?

Council polls: Will Congress retain seat?

V S Ugrappa, who is from Pavagad but was elected from Tumkur constituency has a clout as leader of the Opposition in the cabinet and has made a mark by embarrassing the government on several occasions. Congress sources say he is going to be the likely candidate.  However Congress has not yet confirmed any name.
JD(S) also has a long list of aspirants, prominent among them is former minister from Kunigal D Nagarajaiah, Anasuyamma Ramaiah, Dr M R Hulinaikar, and Madhugiri’s Nagarajappa.

Former legislators S P Muddahanume Gowda, N Ningappa also figured in the list , but Dr M R Hulinaikar’s name is being promoted as the JD(S) candidate. However  JD(S) State president former chief minister H D Kumaraswamy has denied the rumour.
Speaking to Deccan Herald on  Sunday he categorically denied that any decision has been taken in finalising the candidate.  He, however, confirmed that the party leaders had held a meeting in this regard.

JD(S), which has sought the hand of Congress for contesting the LC poll may field a “dummy” candidate, if Congress decides to V S Ugrappa to be its candidate.
Meanwhile there is  a feeling among  JD(S)workers that Dr Hulinaiker played a role in defeating Muddahanume Gowda in the previous Parliamentary elections.

In such a condition, how can he (Hulinaiker) be our candidate , a JD(S) leader asked.  Even if Hulinaiker gets the ticket, he could be only a sacrificial goat, he said.  
Meanwhile Congress leaders held a meeting on Sunday to finalise the candidate and a leader who participated said majority of them had backed Ugrappa’s candidature.
Ugrappa had confessed to a close associate that he would not contest , however the party leaders are said to have urged him to contest. When media questioned him about it Ugrappa only said he would leave it to the party leaders.

Though the Congress list of aspirants is not long K N Rajanna is another name floated.
Compared to Congress and JD(S)camps, BJP is not very active with regard to selection of candidate. District BJP president K S Kiran Kumar, Koratagere’s Borewell Shivanna and Veeranna, former legislator Shivanajappa are said to be aspiring for BJP ticket.
While no name has been announced in a couple of days the suspense will end.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily