Bhavani hits century as Karnataka call shots

Bhavani hits century as Karnataka call shots

The hosts finished the opening day of the four-day clash at the Chinnaswamy stadium on Friday at a healthy 304 for four from 92 overs.

Bhavani’s unbeaten 150 came off 251 deliveries, during the course of which he struck 19 fours and two sixes. He first added 133 with Liyan Khan, who made 50 (140b, 7x4), then realised 120 for the unseparated fifth-wicket stand with Dinesh Borwankar (61 n.o., 122b, 8x4) as Karnataka finished the day strongly.

Prakash Seet was Jharkhand’s best bowler, finishing with figures of three for 54.
Brief scores: Karnataka: 304/4 in 92 overs (Shishir Bhavani 150 n.o., Liyan Khan 50, Dinesh Borwankar 61 n.o.; Prakash Seet 3-54) vs Jharkhand.

Veerendra, Saif star

Bruising centuries by Veerendra Singh and Md Saif set up a commanding win for Presidency School, RT Nagar over Cambridge Public School, Tirupati in the Polly Umrigar Trophy under-16 inter-school cricket tournament.

At the IAF grounds, Presidency rattled up an astonishing 463 for four from their 50 overs, Veerendra cracking an unbeaten 139 (96b, 12x4) and Saif smashing 140 (96b, 14x4). Veerendra returned to torment Cambridge with the ball too, picking up four for 10 to send them crashing to 97 all out and his own team to victory by the commanding margin of 366 runs.

Brief scores: Presidency School, RT Nagar: 463/4 in 50 overs (Karthik CA 48, Kaushik Udupa B 80, Veerendra Singh 139 n.o., Md Saif 140; Karthik U 2-95) bt Cambridge Public School, Tirupati: 97 all out in 32.1 overs (Zunaid Khan 2-30, Veerendra Singh 4-10).
Hyderabad Public School: 309/7 in 50 overs (Yudish 93, Sharat Kumar P 68, Tanay 38; Adish Dessai 2-73) bt Mahila & Nutan High School, Goa: 101 all out in 29.1 overs (Gaurav Naik 31, Adish Dessai 32; Tanay 6-19, Yudish 3-12).

Abhishek’s fine show

A fine all-round show by Abhishek was the highlight of Viveknagar Cricketers’ comprehensive 180-run win over New National CC in a Super League match of the KSCA Group I Division IV tournament for the Metro Shield.

Brief scores: Viveknagar Cricketers: 293/8 in 50 overs (Jagadish 37, Sandeep 98, Abhishek 90 n.o., Sunny 25 n.o.; Anoop Deshpande 4-91, Asif Iqbal 3-35) bt New National C C: 113 all out in 21.5 overs (Rahil 52; Abhishek 4-66, Sunny 4-13).
Ranji Cricket Club: 161 all out in 44.5 overs (Aravind S 38, Nagarajan V 34, Girish G 34; Venkatesh 3-40, Syed Faraz Shah 2-22, Anand Kammar 3-20) lt to Whirlwind Cricketers: 163/5 in 38.4 overs (Rohit Verma 32, Deepak AG 42; BS Ragotham 3-46).