TDP leaves Medak LS seat for friendly BJP

TDP leaves Medak LS seat for friendly BJP

A week after BJP national president Amit Shah had a one-on one with Telugu Desam Party (TDP) president and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Nara Chandrababu Naidu, the regional party has agreed to stay out of the prestigious Medak Lok Sabha by-elections and wholeheartedly support BJP candidate. 

An agreement was reached between representatives of both the parties at the residence of Errabelli Dayakar Rao, senior T-TDP (Telangana) leader here on Sunday.

The BJP will announce its candidate on Tuesday and will be filing nominations on Wednesday, for the election slated on September 13. The seat was vacated by none other than Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao favouring Gajwel Assembly seat from the same district.

Congress to contest

Meanwhile, the AICC general secretary and in-charge of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh Congress Digvijay Singh said that his party will contest the by-elections. “There are reports that the Congress will have adjustment with another political party, but they are not true,” he said.