Core committee to discuss BJP's defeat in bypolls

State BJP core committee is scheduled to meet on Monday to discuss, among other issues, the party’s defeat in the byelections to Bellary Rural and Chikodi-Sadalaga constituencies held recently.

State BJP president Pralhad Joshi, former chief ministers B S Yeddyurappa, Jagadish Shettar and former deputy chief ministers R Ashoka and K S Eshwarappa, are among the core committee members.

Though the party won the Shikaripura Assembly constituency, the victory margin was thin. The State party leaders had called for an introspection into the poor performance in the bypoll. The core committee would do a postmortem of the byelection results and discuss ways to strengthen the party in the State, sources said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)