Alva's Virasat from January 6

Alva's Virasat from January 6

Addressing a press meet here on Tuesday, Alva’s Education Foundation Chairman Dr Mohan Alva said ‘Alva’s Virasat National award’ will be conferred on renowned classical musical genius Dr M Balamuralikrishna who will be brought in procession to the dais at 5.45 pm. The programme will be inaugurated by Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa while Dharmasthala Dharmadhikari D Veerendra Heggade will preside. Nitte University Chancellor N Vinay Hegde, New Medical Centre Managing Director Dr B R Shetty, Corporation Bank Chairman J M Garg, Canara Bank Deputy General Manager K Balachandra Rao, MLA Abhayachandra Jain and former minister Amarnath Shetty will be the chief guests.

Cultural programmes
As part of Virasat, there will be Santhoor recitation by Tarun Bhattacharya on January 6 between 7.30 pm and 10 pm. He will be accompanied by Pandit Abhijit Banerjee on tabla, Ustad Thaufik Kureshi on drums.

On January 7—a special jugalbandhi by Kadri Gopalnath, Surmani Praveen Godkindi and team (6 pm to 8.30 pm); Odyssey dance by Sharmila Biswas and team from Kolkotta (8.40 pm to 10 pm).

January 8— special jugalbandi by Praveen Godkhindi (flute), Pandit Purbayan Chatterjee (Sitar), Sathyajith Talvalkar (tabla), Aun Kumar (drums), Keetha Peters (Bass Guitar), Joheb Hussain (key board) between 6 pm and 8.30 pm; variety of dance by Nrithya Grama, Bangalore (8.40 pm and 10 pm).

January 9—musical evening ‘sangeetha rasasanje’ by singers L N Shastri, Ajay Warrier, Ganesh, Prashanth Rai, Joy Petre, Anuradha, Divya Raghavan, Shamitha Mallad between 6 pm and 10 pm.

January 10—60 winners of India’s Got Talent competition to present variety entertainment between 6 pm and 9.30 pm; Purulia Chao dance artistes to present ‘Mahishasura Mardini’ dance (9.30 pm to 10.30 pm).