No restriction for traffic on Shiradi Ghat as of now

C Mrutyunjayaswamy, the chief engineer of the Public Works Department (PWD - National Highways), said on Monday that there were no plans as of now to close the Shiradi Ghat (on the Bengaluru-Mangaluru highway) for traffic. The stretch is a crucial link on the Bengaluru-Mangaluru highway.

It had earlier been announced that the Shiradi Ghat would be out of bounds for six months from December 15.

Mrutyunjayaswamy said that a decision in this regard would be taken at a meeting to be held soon in Mangaluru of the PWD minister with the district in charge minister and other elected representatives.

The stretch of the highway from 237th km to the 250th km (13.62 km) would be concretised at a cost of Rs 69.90 crore, he said. Work on building parapet at 25 spots had already begun, Mrutyunjayaswamy said. He said that the tendering process had begun for the work from 250th km to the 263rd km, at a cost of Rs 85.28 crore. The tendering process would be completed by February. While the work period is 18 months, the stretch would be closed for traffic for only five months.
The alternative routes for category ‘A’ vehicles (bus, car, jeep, two-wheelers):

Mangaluru-BC Road-Ujire-Charmadi Ghat-Mudigere-Belur-Hassan; Mangaluru-BC Road-Ujire-Charmadi Ghat-Mudigere-Hanubalu-Anemahal-Sakleshpur.    The route for category ‘B’ vehicles (heavy goods vehicle, multi-axle trax, tanker, Rajahamsa and Airavata buses): Mangaluru-BC Road-Mani-Puttur-Madikeri-Hunsur-KR Nagar-Holenarsipur-Hassan.

The third alternative route is open for both category of vehicles: Mangaluru-BC Road-Mani-Puttur-Madikeri-Ilwala-Srirangapatna-Bengaluru.
DH News Service

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0