IPL trim players' auction list to 51

IPL trim players' auction list to 51

IPL trim players' auction list to 51

Ramnaresh Sarwan (West Indies), Nathan McCullum (New Zealand), Clint McKay and Doug Bollinger (Australia), Chanaka Welegedara and Nuwan Zoysa (Sri Lanka), rising Pakistani star Umar Akmal and Yusuf Abdulla and Rory Kleinveldt (South Africa) have also made the cut. The list includes 11 Australians, nine South Africans, eight Sri Lankans, eight West Indians, seven Pakistanis and an assortment of players from across the Bangladesh, New Zealand and Zimbabwe.

The auction, to be held in Mumbai, will also feature for the first time players from Holland and Canada.

As per the guidelines set by the IPL Governing Council, each Franchisee will have a fresh purse of USD 750,000 to buy players.

"The IPL had received nearly 100 entries from international players, of which the eight franchisees had short listed 60 players for the auction on January 19th and out of which only 51 have been cleared for the auction. The remaining will be featured pending NOCs from the home boards," a release from the organisers said.

The third edition of the highly popular Twenty20 event will begin on March 12.

"The enthusiasm and interest displayed by players from all around the world to participate in IPL 2010 has been truly overwhelming. I would like to welcome the players from Canada and Holland in particular and also like to wish all of the 51 cricketers all the very best," Lalit Modi, IPL Chairman and Commissioner, said.

Complete list of 51 cricketers:

1 Mohammad Aamer, Pakistan, 2 Yusuf Abdulla, South Africa, 3 Shahid Afridi, Pakistan, 4 Saeed Ajmal, Pakistan, 5 Umar Akmal, Pakistan, 6 Shakib Al Hasan, Bangladesh, 7 Sulieman Benn, West Indies, 8 Doug Bollinger, Australia, 9 Shane Bond, New Zealand, 10 Darren Bravo, West Indies, 11 Rizwan Cheema, Canada, 12, Zander de Bruyn, South Africa, 13 Grant Elliot, New Zealand, 14 Daren Ganga, West Indies, 15 Murray Goodwin, Zimbabwe, 16 Brad Haddin, Australia, 17, Wavell Hinds, West Indies, 18 Phillip Hughes, Australia, 19, Thilina Kandamby, Sri Lanka, 20 Justin Kemp, South Africa, 21 Rory Kleinveldt, South Africa, 22 Ashley Noffke, Australia, 23 Jason Krejza, Australia, 24 Nuwan Kulasekera, Sri Lanka, 25 Ben Laughlin, Australia.  26 Graham Manou, Australia, 27 Damien, Martyn, Australia, 28 Nathan McCullum, New Zealand, 29 Clint McKay, Australia, 30 Rana Naved Ul Hasan, Pakistan 31, Imran Nazir, Pakistan, 32 Wayne Parnell, South Africa, 33 Thisara Perera, Sri Lanka, 34 Vernon Philander, South Africa 35 Kieron Pollard, West Indies, 36 Abdul Razzaq, Pakistan 37, Kemar Roach West Indies, 38 Ramnaresh Sarwan, West Indies 39 Peter Siddle, Australia, 40 Chamara Silva, Sri Lanka, 41 Lendl Simmons, West Indies, 42 Ryan ten Doeschate, Holland 43, Upul Tharanga, Sri Lanka, 44 Lonwabo Tsotsobe, South Africa, 45 Johan van der Wath, South Africa, 46 Vaughn van Jaarsveld, South Africa, 47 Lou Vincent New Zealand, 48 Adam Voges Australia, 49 Kaushalya Weeraratne, Sri Lanka, 50 Chanaka Welegedara, Sri Lanka, 51 Nuwan Zoysa Sri Lanka.