Karnataka to open Ranji defence against Assam

Last Updated 05 August 2015, 19:36 IST

Defending champions Karnataka will begin their Ranji Trophy title defence against Assam in an away encounter in Guwahati from October 1 to 4.

Karnataka, who beat Tamil Nadu by an innings and 217 runs in the final at the Wankhede Stadium this March, are in Group A alongside Bengal, Vidarbha, Assam, Haryana, Rajasthan, Orissa, Delhi and Maharashtra.

After opening their campaign against Assam, Karnataka will play their first home game against Bengal from October 8 to 11.

The eight-time winners will conclude their group assignments against Maharashtra in Pune (December 1 to 4).

The venues for Karnataka’s home matches are yet to be finalised.
Groupings: Group A: Karnataka, Bengal, Vidarbha, Assam, Haryana, Rajasthan, Orissa, Delhi and Maharashtra.

Group B: Andhra, Mumbai, Punjab, Railways, Tamil Nadu, Baroda, Uttae Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh.

Group C: Goa, Hyderabad, Jammu & Kashmir, Kerala, Saurashtra, Tripura, Services, Jharkhand.

Karnataka’s schedule: October 1-4: vs Assam (in Guwahati); October 8-11: vs Bengal (in Karnataka); October 15-18: vs Vidarbha (in Karnataka); October 22-25: vs Haryana (in Karnataka); October 30-November 2: vs Rajasthan (in Jaipur); November 7-10: vs Orissa (in Karnataka); November 23-26: vs Delhi (in Karnataka); December 1-4: vs Maharashtra (in Pune).

(Published 05 August 2015, 19:36 IST)

Follow us on