Aviation Minister Raju orders probe into Vizag airport row

Aviation Minister Raju orders probe into Vizag airport row

Aviation Minister Raju orders probe into Vizag airport row
Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju on Friday ordered a probe into the Vizag airport incident involving TDP MP J C Diwakar Reddy even as more airlines imposed a flying ban on him for "unruly" behaviour.

Reddy had created a ruckus and targeted IndiGo staff on Thursday at Vizag airport after he was denied boarding for reaching the airport late.

Raju, who also belongs to TDP, tweeted, "I will get the entire incident at Vizag airport enquired into to find out the exact details and ensure that lawful outcomes follow."

The Minister He also denied reports that he had had intervened to ensure Reddy was allowed to board the IndiGo flight, saying there was "no such intervention".

After IndiGo, Air India, SpiceJet and Jet Airways, other airlines Vistara, GoAir and AirAsia India also barred Reddy from flying in a show of solidarity on Friday.

GoAir said, "after careful consideration of the various issues and ramifications" of the actions of Reddy, it has also taken a decision of "not accepting any further bookings" for the said passenger."

AirAsia India said it has also barred Reddy from flying and that it supports the decision to impose a flying ban by the fellow domestic airlines. "We will support the decision taken by the industry with regard to the recent incident involving an IndiGo staff. AirAsia India does not tolerate abusive or unruly behaviour by passengers that puts the safety of other guests and crew members on board at risk," it said.

"In support of the fellow carriers, Vistara has also taken a decision to impose flying ban on J C Diwakar Reddy," Vistara said.

Reddy was last year involved in a similar incident when he allegedly vandalised Air India office at Gannavaram airport in Vijayawada after he missed his flight.

The incident comes at a time the Ministry of Civil Aviation is working on a rule to ensure that unruly passengers land in a National No-Fly List for three months to two years or more for offences ranging from verbal abuse to murderous assault. This was initiated following Shiv Sena MP Ravindra Gaikwad who repeatedly slapping an Air India manager in April.