Nalwad, Gokak hold roadshows before filing papers

Nalwad, Gokak hold roadshows before filing papers

Hubballi-Dharwad Central constituency Congress candidate Mahesh Nalwad waves at his supporters during the roadshow held before he filed the nomination, in Hubballi on Tuesday.

On the last day of the filing of nominations papers for the Assembly elections 2018, Congress candidate from Hubballi-Dharwad Central constituency and BJP candidate from Hubballi-Dharwad East (SC reserve) constituency took out massive processions in the City on Tuesday.

Congress candidate Mahesh Nalwad, who is facing Leader of Opposition in Legislative Assembly Jagadish Shettar of BJP in Hubballi-Dharwad Central constituency, took out a procession from the Maruti Temple at Nagashettikoppa, before filing the nomination at the returning officer's office at the Hubballi-Dharwad Municipal Corporation (HDMC) central office.

Congress leaders A M Hindasgeri, Altaf Hallur, Shiva Naik, Kadayya Hiremath, and others accompanied Dr Nalwad.

"Response from the people is very good, and the party has been strengthened from the booth-level. People want change this time," Dr Nalwad said.

When asked about Congress MLA Prasad Abbayya's brother contesting against him, he said, "I will talk to Prasad Abbayya. We have already held a meeting with all those who wanted the Congress ticket, to work together".

The procession of BJP candidate from Hubballi-Dharwad East constituency Chandrahekhar Gokak began from Rudrakshi Mutt, and he filed nomination papers at the returning officer's office at Mini Vidhan Soudha. MP Pralhad Joshi, Shivu Menasinkai, Shivanand Muttannavar, and others accompanied him.

MP Pralhad Joshi stated that all BJP workers would work for the victory of the party's candidate, and discontented leaders have been pacified.

Both the processions caused traffic congestion in the areas where they moved, while police had a tough time to ensure smooth movement of vehicles.

Rebel factor

Rebel candidates who could not get BJP and Congress ticket to contest in Hubballi-Dharwad East constituency also filed their nominations on Tuesday.

Former MLA Veerabhadrappa Halaharavi, who could not get the BJP ticket, filed his nomination papers as an independent candidate. Corporator Mohan Hiremani, who was an aspirant of the Congress ticket, also filed the nomination.

Other candidates

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), which has an alliance with the JD(S), fielded Shobha Ballari for Hubballi-Dharwad East constituency. Sahadevappa Malagi filed the nomination as the candidate of the All-India Mahila Empowerment Party, while Lok Awaz Dal candidate Saraswati Kattimani also filed the papers.

In Hubballi-Dharwad Central constituency, independent candidate Ayyappa Shirkol, and others also filed their nomination.

After the process of filing nominations came to an end on Tuesday, a total of 30 candidates filed nominations for Hubballi-Dharwad Central constituency, while 12 candidates filed papers for Hubballi-Dharwad East constituency.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily