DMRC to connect City universities in phase III

DMRC to connect City universities in phase III

 The institutions include Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Jamia Milia Islamia University, and Amity University in Noida.

All these educational institutions will be a part of the Janakpuri West – Botanical Garden Metro corridor .

“While IIT and Amity University will have stations by the same name, the Munirka station will cater for JNU which will be within a distance of about a kilometre. The Jamia Nagar station will cater for the Jamia Milia Islamia University,” a Delhi Metro spokesperson said.

The South Campus of the DU will also come under Metro connectivity for the first time, with a station coming up at Dhaula Kuan near the ASRD College. The station will be a part of the Mukundpur–Yamuna Vihar corridor.

Metro management expects a high ridership from these stations once they become operational in 2016. While the ridership at Amity is expected to be over 21,000, close to 19,000 people are expected to use the metro from Jamia station. The number is expected to be around 19,000 at Munirka station, while the ridership from Dhaula Kuan and IIT stations are expected to be close to 12,000 and 6,000, respectively.

At present, Metro connects the North Campus of the DU through the Vishwavidyalaya station. It also connects many colleges under DU such as LSR (Kailash Colony station), Dayal Singh College (JLN Stadium Station), Deshbandhu College (Nehru Place)  and IP College For Women (Civil Lines).

The new campus of Guru Govind Singh Indraprastha University at Dwarka Sector-16  is connected by both Dwarka Sec-13 and Dwarka Sec-14 stations of Line 3. Similarly,  the BR Ambedkar University is connected by Dwarka station of Line 3. Other institutions like AIIMS and Lady Hardinge has a dedicated station on Line 2.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)