BJP-Shiv Sena set to form govt in Maharashtra

Last Updated 24 October 2019, 10:06 IST

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena alliance inches closer to the 'victory' as they win in 100 of the 288 Assembly seats in Maharashtra. The alliance is leading in 57 more seats, indicating a clear win in the Assembly polls. The Congress-NCP has won 56 seats, as of 3 pm.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena alliance was leading in majority number of seats. The alliance is all set to form the government in Maharashtra as it is leading in 161 seats, while the opposition Congress and NCP are ahead in 92 seats, as of 2 pm. Other parties are leading in 35 seats.

At 1 pm, the alliance was leading in 160 seats, while the opposition Congress and NCP were ahead in 92 seats. Other parties were leading in 35 seats.

Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut on Thursday said his party and the BJP will form the next government in Maharashtra, and stressed the two parties will stick to the pre-decided "50-50" sharing formula.

The saffran alliance crossed the halfway mark as the alliance is leading in 171 seats, as of 12 noon. The Congress and NCP alliance is ahead in 85 seats.

While the BJP alone was leading in 105 seats, the Shiv Sena is eyeing the chief minister's post in the state. The Uddhav Thackeray-led party will also insist on a 50:50 power sharing formula with the BJP.

This is the first election in which a member of the Shiv Sena family is participating in the electoral process. Aaditya Thackeray, who is contesting from Worli constituency, was leading in the early trends.

Earlier, the BJP widenined its lead during the counting of votes in the Maharashtra Assembly election. The BJP was leading is 103 seats while its alliance Shiv Sena in 66 seats.

Sharad-Pawar led NCP was leading in more number of seats than the Congress. The Congress and NCP were leading in 39 and 47 seats, respectively.

State BJP president and revenue minister Chandrakant Patil leading from Kothrud in Pune. Post-counting, Patil, a Maratha from Kolhapur,will play a major role.

The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance had crossed the halfway mark, while the Congress-NCP alliance was in disarray. As of 10 am, the BJP was leading in 105 seats while its alliance Shiv Sena in 67 seats. The Congress was ahead in 36 seats and Sharad Pawar-led NCP in 47 seats.

Early trends in the Maharashtra Assembly election counting showed the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its alliance Shiv Sena took lead, while Congress and NCP alliance was trailing.

As of 8:30 am, the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance is leading in 53 seats, while the Congress-NCP are ahead only in 16 seats. Other political parties are leading in six seats.

Early morning, the Maharashtra unit of BJP started making 'victory' preparations at its headquarters in Mumbai. BJP officials gave order for 5,000 'laddus' and for putting up a huge screen to see the live coverage of counting. Orders for garlands are also placed, a party official said on Wednesday.

BJP workers have been asked to reach the party headquarter located near Mantralaya or the state secretariat, in south Mumbai after 10 am on Thursday when the poll trends are expected to emerge.

Voting for the total 288 seats was held on October 21, which saw a voter turnout of 61.13%.

(Published 24 October 2019, 01:59 IST)

Follow us on