SSLC results: 56 high schools given in adoption to 12 officers in Kolar

Education Dept takes unique steps to boost performance
Last Updated 11 July 2010, 17:42 IST

As many as 56 schools with less than 50 per cent result have been given in adoption to 12 officers of the Department.

The district ranked 30 in the State in terms of SSLC results this year. Coming under serious flak for the poor performance, the Department has taken up several measures to improve the results this year. High schools have already been directed to maintain a separate files to monitor academic performance of each student.

The schools given in adoption include 13 private institutions. The Deputy Director of Public Instruction has led the initiative by taking the responsibility of six schools in Bangarpet taluk. There are nine such schools in KGF zone, with 51 percentage pass. Most of the schools given in adopted are in Bangarpet taluk.

Of the 16 schools in Bangarpet taluk, those in Hudukula, Budikote, Sundarapalya, Betamangala and the one in Kolar taluk have been adopted by the DDPI. The responsibility of Girls Junior College in Bangarpet, Betamanagala rural high school and Cariappa high school in Hanchala gate has been entrusted to Education Officer M N Nagendra Prasad. Boys’ Junior College in Bangarpet, N G Hulkur, Kyasamballi, D P Halli and Karamangala have been given to Bangarpet Block Education Officer K Jayaraj.

The BEO of Kolar Gold Fields will be in charge of Boys, Girls Junior College in Robertson Pet, high schools in Kamasamudram, Urigampet, Toppanahalli and girls’ high school in Gonamakanahalli.

The St Mary’s school in Robertson Pet, Ambedkar boys’ and girls’ school in Koramandala, Namperumal, Aravind Tayar schools in Anderson Pet have been entrusted to subject inspector K Srinivasa Gowda. Education coordinator S Ramamurthy will be in charge of BGML school in Urigam, Mehra’s school and Mysore Main school in Marikuppam.

Block Education Officer K S Nagaraja Gowda has been given the responsibility of Government Girls’ College, New Government College, the one in Narasapur, and Patna and Vakkaleri schools. The girls’ college in Malur, D N Doddi, Tekal, Masti and Dinnahalli will be under the purview of BEO Venkatarama Reddy. Subject inspector H Venkataswamy C R Ashok will be monitoring government school in Kesaragere and Ramamadhava school in Tornahalli. BEO S V Padmanabha has will look after Government Girls’ College in Mulbagal and Government High School in Thippadoddi.

The schools in Gownipalli, Rayalpad, Addagal and Ronuru will be under the supervision of BEO C H Victor, the boys’ and girls’ college in the town, and Patapalli government high school will come under the purview of subject inspector H Venkataswamy.

Manual brought out

“Usually, only selected schools are given in adoption. However, the number is higher as the results have nosedived in the district,” Education Officer A N Nagendra Prasad told Deccan Herald.

The officers will shoulder the responsibility of increasing the performance. They have also been furnished with the time-table of the examinations to be conducted over the year, he revealed.

In addition, the Education Department and Zilla Panchayat have jointly brought out “Spoorthi,” a manual detailing steps to be taken for increasing the results.

The Education Department has sprung into action in the right earnest and has introduced unique measures. A coordinated effort between the Department, teachers and parents coupled with hardwork by students, will no doubt push ranking of the district northwards.

(Published 11 July 2010, 17:40 IST)

Follow us on