BJP's Suresh Angadi demands Kumaraswamy's resignation

BJP's Suresh Angadi demands Kumaraswamy's resignation

Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy. Picture credit: Tajuddin Azad/ DH Photo

BJP MP Suresh Angadi demanded that Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy resign immediately by accepting moral responsibility for the dismal performance of the Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) candidates in the Lok Sabha elections. This was after the Congress and JD(S) were routed in Karnataka and the saffron party nearly getting a clean sweep.

Speaking to reporters on Thursday prior to the formal announcement of the result from Belgaum Parliamentary Constituency, Angadi said people in the state have given their verdict in favour of BJP in the Lok Sabha elections. In the Legislative Assembly election too, the verdict was in favour of BJP, but the Congress and JD(S) joined hands for power and people have taught them a lesson.

MUST READ | Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 LIVE Updates

"Kumaraswamy does not have any moral right to continue as CM and should resign. The governor should call the BJP to form the government in Karnataka with it being the largest party in the Legislative Assembly. We hope like-minded MLAs from the Congress and JD(S) will support the BJP to form government in the state," he said.

"In 2014, the people of the country had given the mandate to BJP and Modi for a strong government at the centre and keep instability aside. In the 2019 elections, people have reaffirmed their faith and have given more seats. This shows that the party has the support of the people across the country," he added.

ALSO READ | Karnataka Lok Sabha Election Results LIVE

Angadi also said that during the pre-independence period, the Congress party had been serving the people, but now it was Italian Congress which has made politics as its business and serve one family. 

He thanked the voters for reposing faith in him and getting him elected for the fourth time by a huge margin. He also expressed gratitude to VHP, RSS and other organisations of the party which helped him win.

He also thanked leaders and supporters across the political spectrum including Congress and Maharashtra Ekikaran Samiti for supporting him.