Nandan does star turn for Mysore

Last Updated 27 August 2015, 18:20 IST

Nandan Narayana’s eight-wicket haul for the match helped Mysore Zone thump Mangalore Zone by eight wickets and gain five points in their under-19 KSCA inter-zonal tournament encounter here on Thursday.

After their batsmen had set up a strong first innings total of 302/4 on the first day, the Mysore bowlers had complemented their efforts by reducing Mangalore to 60/5. Mangalore batsmen failed to impress on the second and final day as well. They were skittled out for a paltry 131, conceding a lead of 171 runs to their opponents. Nandan was the most successful bowler for Mysore, finishing with figures of 4/19.

Following on, Mangalore batsmen were troubled by Nandan (4/42) again as they could muster only 182 all out. Chasing an easy target of 12 runs, Mysore lost two quick wickets but finished the formalities in 4.2 overs to seal the match in their favour.     

In another match, all-round efforts from Adoksh Hegde powered President’s XI to a an innings and 118 runs win over Raichur Zone. Responding to Raichur Zone’s 89, President’s XI resumed from their overnight score of 225/4 and declared at 298/8. Centurion Pratik Bhandari (125), added just 19 runs to his overnight score while Adoksh dazzled with 92.

Adoksh came back to claim a five-wicket haul (5/17), which took his match-haul to eight, as Raichur were bowled out for 91.  

Brief scores: At RSI, Mysore Zone: 302/4 decl in 70.3 overs and 12/2 in 4.2 overs bt Mangalore Zone: 131 all out in 52.5 overs (TR Dhruva 31 n.o.; K Shashank 3-24, Nandan Narayan 4-19) and 182 all out in 55.5 overs (MU Sureen 40, Nehal D Souza 25, Yash Kalsnavar 32, TR Dhruva 25; Guruprasad 2-34, Nandan Narayan 4-42).

Mysore Zone: 5 points; Mangalore Zone: 1 point.

At IAF, Raichur Zone: 89 all out in 44.3 overs and 91 all out in 39.3 overs (Rahul Injellikar 31; Santrupth Chandra 3-16, Adoksh Hegde 5-17) lt to President’s XI: 298/8 decl  in 78.1 overs (Pratik Bhandari, Adoksh Hegde 92; N Raghavendra 3-24).

President’s XI: 5 and Raichur Zone: 1.

At Alur 3, Tumkur Zone: 140 all out in 47.2 overs and 98 all out in 44.5 overs (KB Shreyas 25; Nitesh Sedai 5-17, Akshay Bharadwaj 3-11) lt to Bangalore City: 286/8 decl in 81 overs  (Anchit Aiyappa 107 (Retired hurt), Madan 59; Shiva Nayak 2/21).

Bangalore City: 5; Tumkur Zone: 1.

At Aditya Global, Dharwad Zone: 227 all out in 48.4 overs drew Combined City XI: 277/9 in 69 overs (Vinay Sagar 101, Aditya Reddy 91, Abhiram Vadlamani 36; Sumiran Chavan 3-58, Naveen Gadadinni 2-78, Amay Bhatkande 2-18).

Combined City XI: 3; Dharwad Zone: 1.

(Published 27 August 2015, 18:20 IST)

Follow us on