Dharwad building collapse: 7 officials suspended

Dharwad building collapse: 7 officials suspended

Urban Development Minister U T Khader has said that seven officials of town planning, engineering and zonal sections of Hubballi-Dharwad Mahanagara Palike have been suspended from service in connection with Dharwad building collapse case, based on the report by regional commissioner.

"Officials cannot escape from their duties citing staff shortage as a reason. The recent policy changes have helped government take action against officials also in such cases. The suspension is also a warning to all officials concerned," he said.

"Builders should not compromise on the quality of construction for small gains. Negligence can claim lives," he noted.

"Officials would be asked to conduct phase-wise quality check of the construction of buildings," he added.

The suspended officers are Town Planner Mukund Joshi, Deputy Director of Town Planning B V Hiremath, Assistant Director of Town Planning Ashok Gadag, Executive Engineer V Shridhar, Assistant Executive Engineer Chandrapa, zone no 3 Assistant Commissioner Santosh Anishettar and zone no 3 Revenue Officer Doddamani.