Election FAQ: The list of candidates from Karnataka

Election FAQ: The list of candidates from Karnataka

The BJP, Congress and JD(S) are all set for the battle of Karnataka in the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections. The state goes into polls on two dates, April 18 and April 23, as part of the seven-phase polls as announced by the Election Commission of India.

Here's a list of current candidates in each of the constituencies of Karnataka, and who has been nominated for each of them in the polls. The biggest fights to look out for in the state are:

1. Mandya, where independent candidate Sumalatha Ambareesh is going up against JD(S)' Nikhil Kumaraswamy

2. Bangalore North, where the BJP is fielding D V Sadananda Gowda against the Congress' Krishna Byre Gowda

3. Bangalore South, where the BJP is fielding Tejasvi Surya against the Congress' B K Hariprasad

4. Bangalore Central, which will see a three-way fight between the BJP's P C Mohan, Congress' Rizwan Arshad and Prakash Raj, who is contesting as an independent.

When you go out to vote, bear in mind that you are not voting for the next PM of the country, but just the person who will put them there: your MP.


ConstituencyCurrent MPPolling Date BJP+ CandidateCong-JD(S)+ Candidate
Udupi-Chikmagalur Shobha Karandlaje (BJP)April 18Shobha KarandlajePramod Madhwaraj (Congress)
HassanH D Deve Gowda JD(S)April 18A ManjuPrajwal Revanna - JD(S)
Dakshina KannadaNalin Kumar Kateel (BJP)April 18Nalin Kumar KateelMithun Rai (Congress)
Chitradurga (SC)B N Chandrappa (Congress)April 18A Narayana SwamyB N Chandrappa (Congress)
TumkurS P Muddahanumegowda (Congress)April 18G S BasavarajuH D Deve Gowda JD(S)
MandyaL R Shivarame Gowda - JD(S) April 18Sumalatha Ambareesh (Ind)Nikhil Kumaraswamy JD(S)
MysorePratap Simha (BJP)April 18Prathap SimhaVijayshankar (Congress)
Chamarajanagar (SCR Dhruvanarayana (Congress)April 18Srinivasa PrasadR Dhruva Narayana (Congress)
Bangalore RuralD K Suresh (Congress)April 18Ashwat NarainD K Suresh (Congress)
Bangalore NorthD V Sadananda Gowda (BJP)April 18D V Sadananda GowdaKrishna Byre Gowda (Congress)
Bangalore CentralP C Mohan (BJP)April 18P C Mohan Rizwan Arshad (Congress) / Prakash Raj (Ind)
Bangalore South Ananth Kumar (BJP) (Deceased) Vacant April 18Tejaswi Surya LSB K Hariprasad (Congress)
ChikkballapurVeerappa Moily (Congress)April 18B N BachchegowdaDr M Veerappa Moily (Congress)
Kolar (SC)K H Muniyappa (Congress)April 18S MuniswamyK H Muniyappa (Congress)
ChikkodiPrakash Babanna Hukkeri (Congress)April 23Anna Saheb JollePrakash Hukkeri (Congress)
BelgaumSuresh Angadi (BJP)April 23Suresh Chanabasappa AngadiVirupakshi S Sadhunnavar (Congress)
BagalkotP C Gaddigoudar (BJP)April 23Parvatagouda C GaddigoudarVeena Kashappanavar (Congress)
Bijapur (SC)Ramesh Jigajinagi (BJP)April 23Ramesh Chandappa JigajinagiSunitha Devanand Chavan JD(S)
Gulbarga (SC)Mallikarjun Kharge (Congress)April 23Dr Umesh JadhavMallikarjun Kharge (Congress)
Raichur (ST)B V Nayak (Congress)April 23Raja Amresh NayakB V Nayak (Congress)
BidarBhagwanth Khuba (BJP)April 23Bhagwanth KhubaEshwar Khandre B (Congress)
KoppalKaradi Sanganna Amarappa (BJP)April 23Sanganna KaradiRajashekhar Hitnal (Congress)
Bellary (ST)V S Ugrappa (Congress)April 23DevendrappaU S Ugrappa (Congress)
HaveriShivkumar Chanabasappa Udasi (BJP)April 23Shivkumar Chanabasappa UdasiD R Patil (Congress)
DharwadPralhad Joshi (BJP)April 23Pralhad Venkatesh JoshiVinay Kulkarni (Congress)
Uttara KannadaAnanthkumar Hegde (BJP)April 23Anantkumar HegdeAnand Asnotikar JD(S)
DavanagereG M Siddeshwara (BJP)April 23Gowdar M SiddeshwaraH B Manjappa (Congress)
ShimogaB Y Raghavendra (BJP)April 23B Y RaghavendraMadhu Bangarappa JD(S)