Result of Mysore-Kodagu seat hinges on Mandya outcome

If Congress fully supports K Nikhil, the candidate of its ally JD(S), there, the JD(S) is expected to reciprocate in supporting Congress candidate C H Vijayashankar.

The election in Mysore-Kodagu Lok Sabha constituency largely depends on the election in the neighbouring Mandya constituency. If Congress fully supports K Nikhil, the candidate of its ally JD(S), there, the JD(S) is expected to reciprocate in supporting Congress candidate C H Vijayashankar here.

The prospects of BJP candidate Prathap Simha, who is seeking re-election for a second term, depends on the degree of coordination and mutual support of the coalition partners.

Since the first poll in 1951, JD(S) or the Janata Parivar parties have never won. Congress has won 13 and BJP three. Among BJP’s three victories, two belong to Vijayshankar, the present Congress candidate. Late royal scion Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar represented the constituency five times.

Following the delimitation exercise in 2008, two Assembly segments of Kodagu district - - Madikeri and Virajpet - were added to Mysore. The constituency has a huge potential for tourism. There are vast tracts of industrial land in Mysuru region. But industries are not on expected lines here. Huge industries, such as K R Mill, Ideal-Jawa, and Mysuru Lamps, have shut. No such job-intensive industries have come up since then. 

The proximity of the city and towns under the constituency to Bengaluru is deemed to be a handicap for development. Thus, there is a need for a plan to change the weakness into strength. 

Former chief minister Siddaramaiah, who lost the Assembly election in Chamundeshwari, is bent on winning this election through Vijayashankar to re-establish his hold here. However, JD(S) leaders and workers, the coalition partners, especially in Chamundeshwari, Hunsur and Periyapatna, are not keen to canvass for Congress. Vijayashankar, who belongs to Kuruba community like Siddaramaiah, is handpicked by Siddaramaiah himself. So, there is dissent among a section of Congress leaders.

Siddaramaiah, who is also chairman of the coalition government’s Coordination Committee, has convinced the JD(S) leaders to canvass for Vijayashankar.

JD(S) national president H D Deve Gowda held a public meeting jointly with Siddaramaiah in Mysuru on Friday. Tourism Minister Sa Ra Mahesh was with the Congress from the day Vijayashankar filed his nomination papers. Higher Education Minister G T Devegowda has also joined the campaigning. JD(S) state president-Hunsur MLA A H Vishwanath is not in good terms with Siddaramaiah. In fact, he left the Congress, accusing ill-treatment by Siddaramaiah. The BJP is strong in both the constituencies of Kodagu district. Besides, there are BJP MLAs in two or the three constituencies of Mysuru city. Pratham Simha, a Vokkaliga, emerged as a dark horse in the 2014 polls.

He is yet to be accepted among the BJP cadres, though he is the state president of BJP Yuva Morcha. However, there is no strong anti-incumbency wave against him. He is also backed by the Modi wave. 

Twenty-two contestants are in the fray. The voting percentage last time was 67.30.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 3

  • 1

  • 3

  • 0

  • 0



Result of Mysore-Kodagu seat hinges on Mandya outcome


Write the first review for this !