Three Central observers for poll recounting in Bellary

Three Central observers for poll recounting in Bellary

The Election Commission has appointed two IAS officers based in New Delhi as central observers for the recounting of votes polled in the Bellary Lok Sabha constituency during the 2009 elections, on September 15 in Bellary.

Sanjay R Bhoosreddy and R L Mopalwar will be in Bellary to supervise the recounting of votes. In addition, Sumit Mukherjee, secretary of the Election Commission, will be the special observer. While Mopalwar and Mukherjee will be in Bellary on September 13, Bhoosreddy will arrive on the eve of the counting day, according to Amlan Aditya Biswas, Deputy Commissioner, Bellary.

When contacted by Deccan Herald, the officer said this is the first time in Karnataka, electronic voting machines (EVMs) used in the Lok Sabha elections will be reopened for counting under the direction of the court. All precautions are being taken to ensure that there is no scope for irregularities, he said.

Biswas said 1,589 EVMs will have to reopened on the re-counting day. Three layers of security will be provided to the counting centre by deploying 800 police personnel. No phones or sharp objects will be allowed inside the premises. Also, closed circuit televisions will be installed at vantage points.

“We are sanitising every aspect. Even police are drawn from other districts. We will take permission from the High Court before declaring the result as the recounting is being taken up as per the court direction,” he said.

The High Court of Karnataka had directed recounting on a petition alleging electoral malpractices filed by the polling agent for Congress candidate N Y Hanumanthappa.
Shantha had moved the Supreme Court, which upheld the High Court order.