BJP-Sena combine leading in 42 of 48 seats in Maharashtra

BJP-Sena combine leading in 42 of 48 seats in Maharashtra

BJP-Sena combine leading in 42 of 48 seats in Maharashtra

The BJP-Shiv Sena led alliance looks set for its best ever performance in Maharashtra leading in 42 of the total 48 seats, according to trends till 11 AM.

BJP candidates are leading in 23 and Sena nominees in 19 seats. Congress, which contested 27 seats, is ahead in one seat while NCP, which contested 21 seats, is leading in three seats.

The notable BJP candidates leading included former party president Nitin Gadkari from Nagpur and the party's deputy leader in Lok Sabha Gopinath Munde, who is attempting to retain his Beed seat in Marathwada.

Prominent among those trailing are Union minister Sushilkumar Shinde from Solapur, Chhagan Bhujbal from Nashik and Congress minister Narayan Rane's son Nilesh Rane, who is trying to retain the Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg seat in coastal Konkan.

Late BJP leader Pramod Mahajan's daughter Poonam Mahajan is leading from Mumbai North Central over Congress candidate Priya Dutt, who is sitting MP from that seat.

In Baramati, after initial setback, NCP's Supriya Sule established a lead by 15,000 votes. In North Maharashtra, BJP is leading by 3,854 votes in Dhule and by 25,000 votes in Dindori.

In Amravati, Shiv Sena is ahead by 5,831 votes. In Maval, Laxman Jagtap of PWP is leading.

In Mumbai South Central, Shiv Sena's Rahul Shewale is leading over sitting Congress MP Eknath Gaikwad.

Kirit Somaiya of BJP is leading by 29,007 votes over Sanjay Dina Patil who has polled 16,155 votes. AAP's Medha Patkar is in the third position with 6,460 votes.

In Mumbai North, BJP's Gopal Shetty is leading over his rival Sanjay Nirupam of Congress.

In Mumbai North West, Gajanan Kirtikar of Shiv Sena has established a lead of over 7,000 votes.

In Bhiwandi, BJP is leading by 19,902 votes, in Kalyan, Shiv Sena has established a lead while in Thane, Shiv Sena's Rajan Vichare was leading by 19,438 votes.

In Pune, Anil Shirole (BJP) is leading by over 25,000 votes