Tax defaulters' list faulty, admits BBMP

Tax defaulters' list faulty, admits BBMP

Officials of the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) on Wednesday admitted that there were discrepancies in the list of tax defaulters prepared by them.

Reacting to a news report in Deccan Herald titled ‘Top officials, politicians on property tax defaulters’ list,’ BBMP officials regretted the error.

“The DCB (Demand Collection Balance) book from 2008-2012 is in draft mode, the same is under validation by the revenue officials for correction such as missing transaction, mismatch in the name and address of property and other related details,” said the BBMP in an official release.

The Palike has also stated that the draft DCB also contains new PID numbers which are yet to be matched with the tax collection system data, which needs to be checked by field staff for accurate report.

Admitting that there have been wrongful entries in terms of tax collection details, the Palike Commissioner on Wednesday pulled up the Joint Commissioners, the revenue staff and the Deputy Commissioner (DC) Revenue.

He asked them to check each and every property tax detail in the DCB in the next ten days and update the tax payment records. The Palike has decided to take strict action if the errors continue.
The BBMP has clarified that BMRCL MD N Sivasailam, former BBMP Commissioner Rajneesh Goel and Additional Chief Secretary Kaushik Mukherjee have not defaulted on property tax payments.

Payments have been received from them and details of the same will be updated in the subsequent DCB lists.

Sources in the BBMP said the Palike was flooded with calls from IAS and IPS officers on Wednesday seeking to know how the errors creeped into the DCB.