PM gives away Bhatnagar Prizes to 20 scientists

PM gives away Bhatnagar Prizes to 20 scientists

For the first time in the 53-year-old history of the Prize, three awards were bagged by women scientists for the year 2010. The Prize was instituted in 1957 by the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) in honour of its founder Director.

Singh also presented CSIR's award for S&T Innovations for Rural Development for 2009 to Indian Oil Corporation's Research and Development Centre at Faridabad. The awardees for 2010 include G K Ananthasuresh of Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, Swapan K Pati and Umesh Vasudeo Waghmare of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore, Shubha Tole and Kalobaran Maiti of Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.

The other recipients of the 2010 Prize are Mitali Mukerji, Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, Delhi, Sanjeev Galande of National Centre for Cell Science (NCCS), Pune, Sanghamitra Bandyopadhyay of Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata and Sandeep Verma of IIT, Kanpur.

The awardees for 2009 include N Jayaraman, S K Satheesh, Giridhar Madras and J R Haritsa of IISc, Amitabh Joshi of JNCASR, Abhishek Dhar of Raman Research Institute, Venapally Suresh of University of Hyderabad, and S G Honavar of L V Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad.

The other 2009 awardees are Charusita Chakravarty of IIT, Delhi, Bhaskar Saha of NCCS, and Rajesh Gopakumar of Harish Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad. The Bhatnagar Prize comprises of a citation, a cash award of Rs five lakh and a plaque. Besides, each awardee is entitled to a special honorarium of Rs 15,000 per month, till superannuation or till the age of 65 years.

Any citizen of India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years is eligible to be nominated. Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) and Persons of Indian Origin (PIO) working in India are also eligible.