City skaters haul medals

Last Updated 17 January 2011, 16:53 IST

Karnataka has won the 48th nationals roller skating championships held at Vishakhapatnam recently by bagging 40 golds, 41 silver and 19 bronze medals and six individual champions trophy. Pratheek Raja and Varsha S Puranik were the ‘Fastest Timers’ at the national meet.

Out of these, city skaters bagged 31 gold medals, 18 silver and 10 bronze medals.
The individual champions of the meet from the city are Varshith V, Pratheek Raja, Varsha S Puranik, Ashik C Kumar, Sharvani R Shetty and Benazir Meera.

Medal winners

Category: Inline

Varshith V - two golds, one silver; Sanjay S Shetty - two silver; Reethu Dinesh - one silver, one bronze; Gagan Deep - one silver; Ashitha Shetty - one bronze, Sanjana Srinivas - one silver, one bronze;  Akriti Sharma - one gold, silver, bronze each; Akash Aradhya - one gold, silver, bronze each; Pratheek Raja - five golds; Varsha S Puranik - four gold, one silver; H A Pragna - three gold, one silver, one bronze; H A Nilasha - three gold, two silver.

Category: Quad

Harshitha M Gowda - one gold and bronze each; Rahul Roshan - one silver and bronze each; Amogha S - one bronze;  Ashik C Kumar - three golds; Sharvani R Shetty - three golds; K S Shreeraksha - one bronze; Suraksha R Shetty - one gold and silver each; Vishal U Gowda - one silver; Manoj S - one gold; Rohith Gowda M - two silver and Benazir Meera - two golds.

The team was coached by Ekalavya Awardee K Srikantha Rao. 

(Published 17 January 2011, 16:53 IST)

Follow us on