J&K govt all set for 'Darbar Move'

The government headquarters function for six months in Kashmir and six months in Jammu.
The state has two administrative capitals and Srinagar is known as summer capital while Jammu as winter capital.

The shifting of government headquarters from Jammu to Srinagar and vice versa is called “Darbar Move”. 

It was started in 1872 by a Dogra monarch Maharaja Gulab Singh to escape extreme weather conditions in Jammu and Srinagar.

Even after the Independence, the practice of “Darbar move” still continues.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)