Rao, Panjabi among NRIs honoured in UK

Rao, Panjabi among NRIs honoured in UK

Nirmala Rao, Professor of Politics at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London, who studied at Delhi University and Jawaharlal Nehru University before coming to the UK for a PhD in the late 1980s, has been honoured for her service to scholarship.

She has published extensively and been an adviser on several government bodies.
India-born and Cambridge-educated Namita Panjabi, who co-founded the popular Masala World group of Indian restaurants, has also been honoured for services to the hospitality industry.

Others honoured with the OBE include Mayur Parsuram Patel, Team Leader (Litigation) in the Treasury Solicitor's Department, Dr Sunirmal (Biku) Ghosh, founder of the Gwent-Southern Ethiopia Health Link, for his services to Medicine.

Dr Kanwaljit Kaur-Singh, chair of the British Sikh Educational Council, has been honoured for services to Education and to Inter-Faith Understanding, while Rajinder Kaur Mann received the honour for services to Black and Minority Ethnic People.

Mayank Bachubhai Patel, who is the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Azibo Group, has been honoured for services to the financial services industry and to entrepreneurship.

Also honoured are Gurcharan Singh Dhesi, Sergeant, Metropolitan Police Special Constabulary, and Devinder Kalhan, group manager, of the Adults and Communities Directorate, Birmingham City Council.

Kamaljit Kaur receives the honour for services to equal opportunities for Asian women, while Jyotsna Arun Kotnis has been honoured for services to community relations in Northamptonshire.

Parvinder Singh Lalli, executive officer in the Department for Work and Pensions, has been chosen for the royal honour, alongwith Bipinchandra Dharamshi Patel, vice-chair of governors, Working Men's College, London, for services to Adult and Further Education.
Two individuals from Leicester figure in the list are Saroj Bala Seth, for services to community cohesion, and Dr Marcus Jayant Solanki.

For services to the Indian miniature tradition of painting, artists Amrit Kumari Dhigpal Kaur Singh and Rabindra Kumari Dhigpal Kaur Singh have been honoured.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)