83rd annual varsity athletic meet begins

83rd annual varsity athletic meet begins

Shobha clocks fastest time in 100 metres in womens section

Also, the first day of the meet witnessed athletes belonging to PGSC Manasagangothri and Teresian First Grade College garnering a majority of titles in the women’s section.

In the men’s section, Sumanth K R of TTL First Grade College won the 200 metres race by overcoming a stiff challenge from Poornachandra K N of B Somani College. Athletes from rural areas dominated the 800 metres race.

Raju C of SMC Government First Grade College, Kollegal won the 800 metres race by defeating Sachin and Nandisha hailing from K R Nagar and Bharathinagar respectively. Madhusudhan of Channarayapatna won the javelin throw event by beating Kupendramurthy of Mandya.

Physically-challenged athlete Nethravathi P S of Maharani’s Arts and Commerce stole the show by grabbing the fourth place in high jump. Nethravathi is a first year B A student.
Earlier in the day, Karnataka State Athletics Association honorary secretary Sathyanarayan inaugurated the meet. UoM physical education director C Krishna and others were present.

Women’s section
100 metres race: Shobha S (PGSC Manasagangothri, 13.39S) 1; Deepika C K (PGSC Manasagangothri, 14.28S) 2; Pragathi Muththamma C S (SBRR Mahajana F G College, 14.32S) 3.
800 metres race: Smitha C (PGSC Manasagangothri, 2.21.99S) 1; Meghana K R (Maharani's Arts and Commerce College, Mysore, 2.23.51S) 2; Yashasheini K (Teresian First Grade College, 2.27.79) 3.
100 metres hurdles: Shilpa (PGSC Manasagangothri, 20.55S) 1; Shilpa C ( PGSC Manasagangothri, 21.49S) 2; Manjula (GFGC Chennarayapatna, 25.57S) 3.
High Jump: Pavithra (Teresian First Grade College, 1.45M) 1; Mary Kalivani (Teresian First Grade College, 1.32M) 2; Vidyashree C (GFGC For Women, K R Nagar, 1.29M) 3.
Shot Put: Sushma S (Teresian First Grade College, 12.1M) 1; Sharmila K (Teresian First Grade College, 10.9M) 2; Lakshmidevi (Govt. Arts College, Hassan, 9.05M) 3.
Hammer Throw: Sharmila K (Teresian First Grade College, 31.18M) 1; Anjana H (PGSC Manasagangothri, 25.84 M) 2; Roopashree K (JSS Women's College, 22.32M) 3.
4x400 metres relay: Teresian First Grade College, Mysore, 1; PGSC, Manasagangothri, Mysore, 2; Govt First Grade College, K R Nagar, 3.
Men’s section:  
200 metres race: Sumanth K R ( TTL First Grade College, 22.94S) 1;  Poornachandra K N (
B Somani College, 23.91S) 2; Manjunatha M A ( PGSC, Manasagangothri, 24.62S) 3.
800 metres race: Raju C (SMC Govt FGC Kollegal,  2.14.18S) 1;  Sachin B (GFGC, K R Nagar, 2.14.36S) 2;  Nandisha A M ( Bharathi College, Bharathinagar, 2.15.36S) 3.
110 metres hurdles: Mahendra Rao (B Somani College, 15.37S) 1; Anu Kumar C J (Bharathi College Bharathinagar,  19.31S) 2; Pradeep Kumar Y N (Shanthi College, Malavalli, 20.2S) 3.
Triple Jump: Vinay Kumar B (B Somani College, Mysore, 13.39M) 1; Ratheesha T H ( SAFGC Chennarayapatna, 13.37M) 2; Pradeep Kumar P (GFGC T Narsipura, 13.13M) 3.
Discus Throw: Padmanabha B S (Maharaja's College, Mysore, 30.46M) 1; Suresh U B (ANVFGC, Gorur, 27.44M) 2; Shivaraju (GFGC T Narsipura, 26.77M) 3.
Javelin Throw: Madhusudhan (SAFGC, Channarayapatna, 47.65M) 1; Kupendramurthy (Govt College, Mandya, 45.59M) 2; Sridhara K K (Bharathi College, Bharathinagar, 44.12M) 3.
10000 metres race: Sanjieev Kumar (Bharathi College, Bharathinagar, 36.18.95S)1; Doddappaji
(JSS College, Gundlupet, 37.48.96S) 2; Mahadeva Nayaka P (GFGC, Nanjangud, 38.18.96S) 3.