6 Sanskrit scholars awarded

6 Sanskrit scholars awarded

Governor H R Bhardwaj on Saturday described Karnataka as the ‘place for Sanskrit.’

Governor H R Bhardwaj presents Sanskrit book award to Prof N Ranganatha Sharma (left) in Bangalore on Saturday.

“Kashi is no more the place of Sanskrit. Karnataka has now taken its place,” he said, while addressing a gathering at the Sanskrit book awards ceremony, organised by Karnataka Sanskrit University in Bangalore. Bhardwaj, however, said Sanskrit, like other Indian languages, had taken a back seat because of the invasion of English. Efforts should be made to revive Sanskrit, he said.

Lexicographer Prof G Venkatasubbaiah said  it was important to ensure the growth of Sanskrit for the growth of Kannada.

Sanskrit University Vice Chancellor Mallepuram G Venkatesh said the ‘Grantha’ awards would be instituted in the name of Sanskrit scholar and professor of Mysore University, M Hiriyanna.

As many as six scholars were recognised for their contribution to the Sanskrit language and presented with the awards.

Prof N Ranganatha Sharma, professor of grammar, received the lifetime achievement award.
The other awardees are: Prof of H V Nagaraja Rao, scholar and writer for his work ‘Kathalahari’, a collection of short stories; Dr H R Vishwas, writer and translator for  his Sanskrit translation of S L Bhyrappa’s novel ‘Aavarana’; Dr Roopa, head of Sanskrit department, Maharaja College, Mysore for her children’s book in Sanskrit - ‘Balakatha’; Madhusudan Adiga, assistant professor, Kalabairaveshwara college, for his contemporary drama – ‘Gadadharam’; and lexicographer Venkatesh for bringing out a Sanskrit-Kannada dictionary.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)