BJP bigwigs lose, not all rosy for party

BJP bigwigs lose, not all rosy for party

While the MCD results have brought cheers to the Bharatiya Janata Party’s sitting heavyweights, several senior leaders were nowhere to be found as they witnessed defeat.

Senior party leaders, who lost election,  are former Mayor Kanwar Sain, state BJP vice president Vishakha Sailani, state secretary Sunil Yadav, party’s spokesperson Sambit Patra and treasurer Anil Goel, two district presidents Ram Charan Gujratia and Manoj Sharma, and senior Akali leader and sitting councillor Avtar Singh Hit.

Sitting councillors who won include Mayor Rajni Abbi from Mukherjee Nagar, chairman standing committee, Yogender Chandolia from Dev Nagar, current leader of the House, Subhash Arya from Rajouri Garden, chairperson of MCD’s appointment committee Meera Agarwal from Sawan Park.

The other sitting councillors basking in victory celebrations include member of standing committee, Rekha Gupta from Pitampura North, former chairman of standing committee, Ram Kishan Singhal from Shalimar Bagh (north), deputy chairperson of standing committee, Sarita Chaudhary from Sangam Vihar, chairman of MCD’s education committee, Mahendir Nagapal from Wazirpur. Delhi BJP office bearer Ashish Sood  and Satish Upadhyay also won from Janakpuri West and Malviya Nagar respectively.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)