'Don't demand applications for awards'

Last Updated : 05 September 2012, 18:13 IST
Last Updated : 05 September 2012, 18:13 IST

Follow Us :


The Department of Public Instruction should conduct an evaluation of the performances of teachers before Teachers’ Day and give awards on the occasion, said Y A Narayanaswamy, Member of the Legislative Council.

“It is unjust to demand applications from teachers for the Best Teacher Award,” said the legislator.

He was addressing a Teachers’ Day programme organised jointly by the Zilla Panchayat, the district administration and the Department of Public Instruction at the T Chennayya Rangamandira on Wednesday.

“Applicants urge politicians or resort to various kinds of influential means to ensure they get the award. Watching such drama is socially unacceptable,” rued the MLC, demanding that the Department itself take steps to find teachers with excellent performances and honour them.

Varthur Prakash, the district in-charge minister, who chaired the programme, concurred with Narayanaswamy.

“A private organisation should be formed to survey the performances of teachers at district level in the coming academic year. The report of the organisation will be taken as decisive for the choices for the best teacher award,” the legislator added.

Guru Bhavan

S V Padmanabh, deputy director of the Department, said the work of the construction of the Guru Bhavan in the district headquarters has come to a standstill several years ago.

He urged the officers in the Department to consider the matter seriously and ensure the work of constructing the hall is completed at the earliest.

“All legislators, as well as office-bearers of societies and organisations all over the district should organise a district level meeting and take a decision in this matter,” he requested.

Six teachers of various primary schools and five teachers from high schools were honoured on the occasion.

Private school teachers

The Department, for the first time, honoured teachers of private education institutes in the district.

S Uma Devi of Shankara Vidyalaya in the City, V Prabhakar of St Teresa School in Kolar Gold Fields, Uma Devi of Preethi Education Institute in Srinivaspur, S Rama of Navachethan High School in Bangarpet, Syed Ijaz Ur-Rahim of Vivekananda High School in Malur and Shamshad Katoon of Sri Gayathri Education Institute of Mulbagal were honoured.

Varthur Prakash handed the best teacher awards.

Other awards

The heads of 47 high schools in the district that had got 100 per cent results in the SSLC exams in 2012, A N Nagendra Prasad, the nodal officer who had worked to ensure good results for the district and retired teachers were honoured on the occasion.

G A Yajnavalkya, physical trainer of the Government Urdu Higher Primary School at Fulshah Mohalla in the City was given the Bharat Seva Dal excellent activist award.

Muddugangaiah, the deputy coordinating officer of the Sarva Shikhana Abhiyaan, presented a solo performance on a conversation between Shakuni, Arjuna and Babhruvahana from the Indian epics.

Published 05 September 2012, 18:13 IST

Follow us on :

Follow Us