Ali, Sabeena stay on course for titles

Maharashtra’s Liyakat Ali led the men’s section with 3700 pinfalls after six games of the second round in the Bank of Maharashtra 24th National tenpin bowling championship at the Blu-O bowling alley, Orion Mall here on Wednesday.

Ali was followed by Delhi’s Shaikh Abdul Hameed who tallied 3649 pinfalls after his quota of six games. Karnataka’s Akaash Ashok Kumar was just three pinfalls behind at 3646.
After a further six rounds on medium oil condition, the top 12 men based on 24 pinfalls will progess to the third round where eight games will be played on Thursday.

The top four bowlers will feature in the stepladder round which will also be held on Thursday.  In the women’s section, Tamil Nadu’s Sabeena Saleem holds the lead with 3696 pinfalls after the second round comprising 20 games.

Saleem was trailed by Aishwarya Rao of Karnataka with 3570 pinfalls while Andhra Pradesh’s Sumathi Nallabantu was in the third position with 3478 pinfalls.
Defending national champion Prathima Hegde of Karnataka withdrew due to an injured middle finger on the bowling hand.

Results (Individual events, standings): Second round (six games) Men: Liyakat Ali (Mah) 3700 pinfalls, 1; Shaikh Abdul Hameed (Del) 3649, 2; Akaash Ashok Kumar (Kar) 3646, 3.
Women (20 games): Sabeena Saleem (TN) 3696, 1; Aishwarya Rao (Kar) 3570, 2; Sumathi Nallabantu (AP) 3478, 3.

Comments (+)