Moga seat Cong aspirants unhappy

Resentment prevailed among Congress aspirants for Moga by-poll with the nomination of party candidate Vijay Sathi against turncoat Joginderpal Jain of SAD in the run-up to the polls on February 23


Darshan Singh Brar, a Congress candidate, who lost against Mahesh Inder Singh from Baghapurana Assembly seat at the last hustings, and Punjab women Congress chief Malti Thapar are among the party candidates allegedly unhappy over the allotment of party ticket to Sathi.

The disgruntled Congress leaders are of the opinion that with the naming of Sathi as party leader for the Moga by-poll, the Congress High Command had offered the seat to the Shiromani Akali Dal “on a platter”.

The supporters of Brar and Thapar urged Punjab Congress chief Amarinder Singh to ask the high command to re-consider its decision on fielding Sathi.

The supporters of Brar are of the opinion that he was a strong contender for the seat and Sathi may get lukewarm following from Congress followers in the run up to the by-polls.

SAD candidate Jain, who deserted the Congress to join SAD, and panthic morcha nominee Ravinder Singh have already started their poll meetings whereas the Congress has been a non-starter till date.

Congress sources said here on Sunday that it would approach Peoples Party of Punjab (PPP) supremo Manpreet Singh Badal to withdraw his candidate in favour of the Congress. At the last hustings, PPP had failed to open its account.

The by-polls were necessitated after Jain of the Congress left the party and joined Shiromani Akali Dal.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0