Elections to 148 seats in C'magalur on March 7

There are a total of 240 polling booths in 8 ULBs

The process for elections to urban local bodies have begun with the issue of notification by the DC. Accordingly, elections to 148 seats in the CMC, TMC and Town Panchayat will be held on March 7.

The elections will be held from 7 am to 5 pm. As many as 1,49,162 voters will exercise their franchise. This includes 75,026 male and 74,136 female voters.

The election code of conduct has been in force since February 15. The process of receiving nominations have commenced from Saturday itself. The last date for submitting nominations is February 23. The nominations will be scrutinised on February 25. The last date for withdrawing nominations is February 27.

There are a total of 240 polling booths in CMC, 3 TMC and 4 Town Panchayats. This includes 114 sensitive and 55 hyper sensitive booths. There are 109 polling booths in Chikmagalur CMC limits, 32 in Kadur, 23 in Birur, 32 in Tarikere, 11 in N R Pura, 11 in Kopppa, 11 in Sringeri, and 11 in Mudigere, said official in district administration.
The counting will be held at the taluk headquarters on March 11.

The counting centres are at STJ Women’s PU College in Chikmagalur, Kadur Government PU College, Tarikere Boys PU College, NRPura TP office, Balagadi Koppa Government First Grade College, Sringeri Mini Vidhan Soudha office, and Mudigere mini vidhan soudha office. The elections will be conducted on the reservations followed during 2007.

Election officers

Election officers have been elected to 35 wards in the CMC limits. Backward classes welfare officer Jagadish has been appointed as election officer for ward 1 to 7.
Ward no 8 to 14—Women and child welfare department Deputy Director H G Chandrashekaraiah.

Ward no 15 to 21—Horticulture department deputy director Sampath. Ward no 22 to 28—district statisticians Venkatesh and ward no 29 to 35—Basavaraju. The election commission has already appointed election observers.

Control room

To keep a watch on the sale and store of liquor during elections, control rooms have been opened in all the taluks.

If there was any complaint on the transportation of liquor, then the public can contact: Chikmagalur taluk—08262-221269, 229029, Kadur— 08267-214746, Tarikere—08261-223970, Mudigere—08262-222075, Koppa— 08265-222628, N R Pura—08266-220439.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0