Varsity okays new affiliation to 11 colleges

Varsity okays new affiliation to 11 colleges

The academic council meeting of the Mangalore University has okyed the new affiliation to 11 colleges in its jurisdiction.

Charing a meeting, Mangalore University Vice-Chancellor Prof T C Shivashankaramurthy has said that the colleges which had applied for new affiliation are Sai Shankar degree college, Ponnampet (BCom); Aaba Women’s First Grade College, Surathkal (BA, BCom); Gurudeva First Grade College, Belthangady (BA, BCom); Anugraha Women’s College, Kalladka (BA, BCom); Aims First Grade College, Kadaba (BA, BCom); Trisha College, Kalyanapura (BCom); Hazrath Sayyed Madani Banath Women’s College, Ullal (BA, BCom); Mangalore One School and College, Chembugudde (BA, BCom); Tauheed Women’s College of Commerce, Gangolli (BCom, BBM); St Antony College of Commerce, Belthangady (BCom) and Kodlipete First Grade College (BA, BCom).

The Academic Council has okayed permanent affiliation to Canara College, Mangalore and Dr K Shivaram Karanth First Grade College subject to meeting of the condition. The council has also okayed permanent affiliation to Dr G Shankar Government Women’s First Grade College, Ajjarakadu.

It also okayed continuation of affiliation to 144 colleges.

The Council has rejected the proposal of Fr Muller’s College, Mangalore for starting Masters of Audiology, Speech Language and Pathology (MASLP), as it fails to fulfill the eligibility prescribed by the UGC. As per the UGC norms, the colleges must have been offering BASLP for the last 10 years or must be possessing permanent affiliation or NAAC accreditation. Pompei College, Vivekananda College, St Philomena College, St Aloysius Evening College and Alva’s Colleges have been given permission to start PG courses by fulfilling the conditions put forth by the local inspection committee. As the local inspection committee has not recommended for the starting of PG course at Government First Grade College in Vittal, as the college did not have infrastructure facilities, it was not given the permission.

SC/ST fund

The VC said that the government has earmarked Rs 3.70 crore under Special Component Plan (SCP) and Tribal Sub-Plan (TSP) grant during 2013-14. A committee will be constituted to prepare an action plan for the utilisation of funds. The fellowships for SC/ST research scholars will be increased to Rs 10,000 from Rs 8,000.

Food and Tech course

St Aloysius College has sought autonomy to start MSc in Food science and technology course during 2013-14. However, the review committee had observed that the college lacked a pilot plant for conducting practicals, lack of expert teachers to teach and non availability of library facility exclusively for food science and technology course. If the college fulfills the minimum facilities like specialised faculty members for teaching and pilot plant for conducting practicals and submit a compliance report to the Mangalore University by June, then the committee will inspect the facilities and submit a report on the same.

Jain study centre

The Council also okayed the statute relating to the establishment of Jain Study Centre in Mangalore Universty.

Registrar Prof Yadapadithaya, Registrar (Evaluation) Dr B Narayana and Finance Officer Dr Pakkeerappa were present.

Good news for guest lecturers

Here is a good news for the guest lecturers serving in the Mangalore University. The salary of the guest lecturers will be hiked to Rs 15,600. If the guest lecturers had passed NET/SLET, then they will get addition of Rs 4,400, thus amounting to Rs 20,000.