Yeligar stuns Castelino

Yeligar stuns Castelino

Yeligar stuns Castelino

Qualifier Abhishek Yeligar pulled off a stunning straight-game win to topple numero uno Rohan Castelino in the men’s singles quarterfinals of the Senior 5-Star State-ranking badminton tournament at the Karnataka Badminton Association courts on Thursday.

The PPBA shuttler posted a 21-18, 21-13 win over fancied Rohan to storm into the semifinals where he will join third-seeded Suraj RN, fourth seed Daniel S Farid and second seed Anup Sridhar.

In the corresponding women’s category, Jacqueline Rose Kunnath showed true grit in overcoming top seed Ruth Misha V 21-17, 23-21 to book a spot in the final. The third seed will face PPBA’s Shikha Gautam for the crown.

Ruth, however, made up for that loss by claiming the double’s crown as she partnered Sangeetha Mari on behalf of KBA to get the better of top seeds Arsheen Syed Saadath and Parvathi S Krishnan 21-17, 14-21, 21-19 in the final.

In the mixed doubles section, Abhinand Shetty and Sangeetha Mari teamed up to edge out KBA’s Adarsh Kumar S and Varsha Belawadi 17-21, 21-18, 21-17 in a keenly contested final to bag top honours.

Results (prefix denotes seeding): Men’s singles, quarterfinals: Abhishek Yeligar (PPBA) bt 1-Rohan Castelino (INC) 21-18, 21-13; 3-Suraj RN (SAI) bt 10-Sankeerth BR (NGV) 21-15, 21-16; 4-Daniel Farid S (PPBA) bt 15-Rishiketh Yeligar (Dharwad) 21-19, 21-12; 2-Anup Sridhar (Tom’s) bt 11-Karthikey K (AGS) 21-17, 17-1 (retd). Doubles, semifinals: 1-Adarsh Kumar S (KBA)/ Venkatesh Prasad (AGS) bt Abhijeet Naimpally (Canara Bank)/ 4-Jagdish Yadav (KBA) 21-13, 11-2 (retd); 2-Guruprasad D/ Vineeth Manuel (Canara Bank) bt Prakash Raj/ Sachin C Gowda (Mysore) 21-14, 21-23, 21-10.

Women’s singles, semifinals: 3-Jacqueline Rose Kunnath (Tom’s) bt 1-Ruth Misha V (KBA) 21-17, 23-21; Shikha Gautam (PPBA) bt 2-Mira Mahadevan (Tom’s) 21-16, 21-9.

Quarterfinals: Ruth bt Savita RN (WPBA) 21-17, 21-8; Jacqueline bt Anagha B (BCI) 21-6, 21-7; Shikha bt 4-Divya A (BCI) 21-11, 21-8; Mira bt Varsha Belawadi (KBA) 21-19, 19-21, 21-18.

Doubles, final: 2-Ruth Misha V/ Sangeetha Mari (KBA) bt 1-Arsheen Syed Saadath/ Parvathi Krishnan S (ECA) 21-17, 14-21, 21-19.

Semifinals: Arsheen/ Parvathi bt 4-Anagha B/ Divya A (BCI) 21-8, 21-10; Ruth/ Sangeetha bt Aditi D (AGS)/ Rohini Gore (MRF) 21-3, 21-6.

Mixed doubles, final: 1-Abhinand Shetty/ Sangeetha Mari (KBA) bt 2-Adarsh Kumar S/ Varsha Belawadi (KBA) 17-21, 21-18, 21-17.

Semifinals: Abhinand/ Sangeetha bt 3-Jagdish Yadav/ Ruth Misha V (KBA) 21-13, 15-21, 21-13; Adarsh/ Varsha bt 4-Prakash Jolly K/ Mira Mahadevan (Tom’s) 21-12, 21-10.