Anil, Samarth help B'lore City take driver's seat

IG Anil shone with the ball while R Samarth starred with bat as Bangalore City XI took full control of their match against Dharwad Zone in the SA Srinivasan Memorial Trophy under-25 tournament here on Tuesday.

Anil produced a superlative bowling performance -- 6/43 -- as Dharwad could muster only 154 all out in 44 overs. Anil was ably supported by Stalin Hoover, who bagged 3/23. Parappa Mordi (59) was the lone bright spot for Dharwad.

Bangalore City’s reply was led by sparkling unbeaten knock from Samarth. The youngster stroked his way to a fluent 119 off just 120 balls (16x4) as City finished the opening day on a strong 230/2 in 41 overs. Nirmal S contributed a handsome 83 in his team’s handy 76-run lead.

Brief scores: Dharwad Zone: 154 all out in 44 overs (Parappa Mordi 59; IG Anil 6-43, Stalin Hoover 3-23) vs Bangalore City XI: 230/2 in 41 overs (Nirmal S 83, Samrath R 119 batting).

President’s XI: 306/6 in 82.1 overs (Karun Nair 47, Vijay Kumar 57, Kranthi Kumar 69, David Mathias 104 n.o.; Ronauk Shah 2-59, Abrar Kazi 2-48) vs Vice President’s XI.
Bangalore Zone XI: 249 all out in 77.5 overs (Pawan Deshpande 53, Suraj Sampath 31, Zeeshan Ali Sayyed 31, Yusuf 27 n.o.; Daivik Vishwanath 3-58) vs Secretary’s XI: 42/0 in 13 overs (Abhishek AP 28 batting).

Raichur Zone: 266 all out in 63.3 overs (Raj Kumar 93, Shashidhar 111; K Hoysala 4-77, Vikram Venkatesh 6-54) vs Shimoga Zone: 65/3 in 22 overs (Sufiyan Syed 29 batting; Avinash D 2-54).

Tumkur Zone: 157 all out in 55.5 overs (Raghuveer 44, Sharath 29, Manu Ravindra 29; K Shashindra 5-23, Umang Chordia 2-38) vs Combined City XI: 239/1 in 46 overs (Liyan Khan 117 batting, Ranjan Sanjay Kumar 109 batting).

Mysore Zone: 385/6 in 78 overs (Bharath N 136, MG Naveen 50; Pavan Gokhule 3-77) vs Mangalore Zone (Due to rain match called off for the day early).

Comments (+)