Moffusil XI on top after day one

Moffusil XI on top after day one

G Pavan hit a fighting half-century (53) and Avinash took 4/36 as Moffusil XI held the advantage against President’s XI at close on day one of their semifinal in the KSCA inter-zonal under-19 tournament on Saturday.

Batting first, Moffusil XI were all out for 226 with contributions from Pavan and Darshan MB, who made a vital 27. Sharan Gowda did the star turn for President’s XI, taking 6/58 and was ably supported by Prasidh M Krishna, who took 3/26.

In response, President’s XI were tottering at 53/8, with Avinash starring with a four wicket burst to help his team snatch the initiative at the end of the day.

In a 5-8th play-off match, Bangalore Zone held all aces against Combined Moffusil XI after the opening day’s play. Batting first, Bangalore Zone rode on an unbeaten 80 from Akash Shervi to reach a respectable 230 for seven in 90 overs.  In reply, Combined Moffusil were in all sorts of trouble as they were tottering at 11 for four in 11 overs.

Brief scores: Semifinals: Moffusil XI: 226 all out in 59.5 overs (G Pavan 53, Darshan MB 27; Sharan Gowda 6-58 Prasidh M Krishna 3-26) vs President’s XI: 53/8 in 30 overs (Avinash 4-36); Combined XI: 309 all out in 70.3 overs (Bharath KN 86, Shashank Mittal 41, Pranav V 38, Srijith KL 33, S Rakshith 27; Vyashank Vijayakumar 5-105, Abhilash 2-50) vs Secretary’s XI: 71/6 in 23 overs (Raja Gala 3-34, Preethek Jain 2-19).

5-8th Playoff: Zone XI: 105 all out in 72.1 overs (Abhyudaya 36; Rajath Hegde 5-28, Harish Kumar 2-31) vs Bangalore City XI: 137/4 in 41 overs (Abhishek Reddy 90 batting, Lagan Jain 26); Bangalore Zone: 230/7 in 90 overs (Akash Shervi 80 n.o., Aditya Somanna 55, Ankith Udupa 31, AP Abhishek 30; Pawan JG 2-32, Karan 2-56) vs Combined Moffusil XI: 11/4 in 11 overs (Nitish PD 2-1, Aditya Somanna 2-7).