FUCC storm into semifinals

Akhil cracks 167 in facile victory

B Akhil’s big hundred fashioned Friends Union Cricket Club’s 24-run win over Malleswaram Gymkhana in a high-scoring quarterfinal of the YS Ramaswamy Memorial Trophy tournament here.

Riding on Akhil’s 167, FUCC posted a massive 312 for nine in 50 overs. That M Vinod, with 30, was second highest scorer put Akhil’s knock in perspective. Gymkhana, riding on Rohit Gowda’s 110-ball 128, made a spirited chase before being bowled out for 288 in 47 overs.

FUCC will take on Swastic Union Cricket Club (1) in the semifinal on Friday at Chinnaswamy. SUCC (1) made light of a 269-run target set by SUCC (2). Shreyas Gopal was the architect of SUCC (1)’s successful chase with an unbeaten 113.

In the other quarters, Vultures Cricket Club drubbed Social Cricketers by 10 wickets to set up last-four clash with Jawahar SC who trounced Bangalore Occasionals by 60 runs. 

DH News Service

Brief scores: Friends Union Cricket Club: 312/9 in 50 overs (B Akhil 167, Nirmith N 28, M Vinod 30; T Manjunath 2-50, Mitraklant 2-73) bt Malleswaram Gymkhana: 288 all out in 47 overs (Rohit Gowda 128, HR Cheluvaraj 34, Manjunath T 32; Stalin Hoover 2-53, Likith Bannur 3-50, M Vinod 2-71).Swastic Union Cricket Club (2): 268/7 in 50 overs (Abhinav Manohar 65, Dinesh Borwankar 106; Abrar Kazi 3-35, Udit Patel 2-49) lt to Swastic Union Cricket Club (1): 269/3 in 46.3 overs (Akshay Kodoth 68 retd. hurt, Shreyas Gopal 113 n.o., Rohit Sabarwal 58).Social Cricketers: 163 all out in 46.1 overs (Rajshekar Shanbal 34, SP Arjun 39, Vyshak Vijaykumar 59; BN Bharath 2-31, SK Moinuddin 2-36, Anirudha Joshi 2-14) lt to Vultures Cricket Club: 165/0 in 17.5 overs (Nischit Raj 51 n.o., Tejas A Wagle 95 n.o.).Jawahar Sports Club: 234 all out in 49.5 overs (Shishir Bhavane 64, Nischal D 56, Kaunian Abbas 25; T Pradeep 2-31, S Prashanth 2-52) bt Bangalore Occassionals: 174 all out in 45.1 overs (Samarth Ooty 34, KN Bharath 41; Nitish PD 4-45, Suchith J 3-28, Gowtham K 2-33).Semifinals line-up (both on Friday): FUCC vs SUCC (1) at the Chinnaswamy stadium; Vultures Cricket Club vs Jawahar Sports Club at RWF ground.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0