Council polls: Suja, Gopal, Ashok file nominations

BJPs S G Medappa, JD(S)-Congs T John to file papers today

Suja Kushalappa, brother of MLA M P Appacchuranjan, Kushalnagar APMC former president C P Gopal have filed nominations as BJP rebel candidates. Zilla Panchayat former president H S Ashok has filed nomination as an independent candidate on Monday. Earlier, Jilla Veerashaiva Samaja leader S P Mahadevappa had filed nominations.

Congress-JD(S) candidate T John and BJP candidate S G Medappa will file nominations on Tuesday.

The nominations will be scrutinised on Wednesday. The last date for withdrawing nomination is December 4. The election will be held on December 18 between 8 am and 4 pm. Counting will be held on December 21.

Suja Kushalappa along with large number of followers submitted the nomination to Deputy Commissioner K H Ashwathanarayana Gowda. Madikeri CMC President P D Ponnappa, Vice-President Latha Bangera, Gonikoppa APMC President Bose Mandanna, Vice-President Shareen Subbaiah and others were present.

Earlier, speaking to presspersons, Kushalappa said “Last time, S G Medappa had requested one chance and had assured to recommend my name next time.

However, he has not kept his promise. Owing to the pressure from party workers, I am contesting the election.” 

“S G Medappa’s name was included without bringing it to the notice of district MLAs. Localites were not given preference in Virajpet for the last several years.

I have worked for the growth of the party since 1981. I will not withdraw nomination at any cost,” he added.

Kushalnagar APMC former president C P Gopal also filed nomination as BJP rebel candidate. 

Earlier, ZP former president H S Ashok has filed nomination as independent candidate.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0