Cong releases fresh list of candidates

Cong releases fresh list of candidates

The Congress on Monday fielded Union Minister Namo Narain Meena from Dausa and Leader of the Opposition in Punjab Sunil Kumar Jakhar from Firozpur.

AICC general secretary Madhusudan Mistry released a list of 16 candidates, including Vazhapadi Rama Suganthan from Dharmapuri in Tamil Nadu, K Selvaraj from Pollachi and V M Jayakumar from Tiruvallur.

Meena, Union Minister of State for Finance, represents Tonk-Sawai Madhopur in the outgoing Lok Sabha. He has been shifted to Dausa as the Congress has fielded former cricketer Mohammad Azharuddin from Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, which has a sizeable Muslim population.
Sanjay Yadav has been fielded from Bharatpur.

The two other party candidates from Punjab in the list are Sadhu Singh Dharamsot from Fategarh Sahib and Joginder Singh Panjgrain from Faridkot. Nandagopal Gupta “Nandi”, a BSP leader who joined the Congress last week, has been fielded from Allahabad. In Maharashtra, former Congress MLA Nitin Patil has been fielded from Aurangabad, a seat held by the Shiv Sena for a long time.

Dharnidhar Nayak has been fielded from Kendrapara in Orissa, while Razia Ahmed, Pritam Ghosh and Bipin Bora will contest from West Bengal’s Krishnanagar, Hooghly and Bardhaman-Durgapur constituencies respectively.