LS polls: 7 withdraw from fray

LS polls: 7 withdraw from fray

Only 15 out of 22 candidates to contest from Mysore-Kodagu LS constituency

In all, seven candidates have withdrawn their nomination papers for the Lok Sabha election from Mysore-Kodagu constituency. Following this, only 15 candidates remain in the fray for the polls scheduled for April 17.

On Saturday, the last day to withdraw the papers, six candidates, all Independents, withdrew from the fray, while one Akhil Ahmed did so on Friday itself. The others are: M Khaleel, P S Yadurappa, Srinivas, G Lingaiah, Devanur Gurumallesh and R Vishwanath.

The candidates in the fray are: sitting MP and Congress nominee A H Vishwanath, Chandrashekaraiah from Janata Dal (Secular), Prathapa Simha from BJP, C Mohan Kumar from Bahujan Samaj Party, Thimmegowda from Sarva Janata Party, D S Nirvanappa from Communist Party of India (Marxist Limited) Red Star, M V Padmamma from Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), S P Mahadevappa from Janata Dal (United), Rati Poovaiah from Karunadu Party and Hunsur K Chandrashekar from Democratic Prajakranthi Party Secularist. The independents are: D Eshwar, Bannur Kumar, Praveen M S, N Bhojanna and N Sampath.

On the other hand, prominent candidates were busy seeking votes. While Congress Sevadal workers took out a rally from Gandhi Square in favour of their nominee Vishwanath, former High Court judge Chandrashekaraiah from JD(S) interacted with joggers at Kukkarahalli lake and its surrounding area.


A dedicated committee for Systematic Voters Enrolment and Education Programme (SVEEP) visited SBRR Mahajana First Grade College and administered an oath to students. 

The committee members, led by Deputy Director for Women and Child Development N R Vijay, asked the students above the age of 18 years (eligible for voting) to take part in the electoral process as it is a right as well as duty. Exercising one’s franchise, strengthens democracy, he said.