Parasappa, Sannakki victorious

KA Nettakallappa memorial road races
Last Updated 29 June 2014, 19:37 IST
Parasappa Harijol completed a fine double in the Deccan Athletic Club’s K A Nettakallappa Memorial Road Races, winning the men’s 12km event in the second leg as well here on Sunday.

Parasappa, who had won the Tumkur leg of the event two weeks ago, outwitted his rivals again to claim the top prize, pushing Kanakappa Donni to second place. Lingaraja Haliyal finished third in the competition, sponsored by Deccan Herald and Prajavani.

In the women’s 6km run, Thippava Sannaki of Mysore took the top spot. K M Archana came home second while B K Supriya finished third.

Priyanka, winner of the Tu­m­kur leg, had seemed poised for another victory when she surged ahead. Leading for most part of the race, Priyanka, however, slipped and fell with two kilometres left for the finish. Priyanka then pulled out of the race after which Sannaki eased home.

Mohammad Noorul won the boys’ 2.5km race, pushing Lakshman to second spot and S Thejas to third. Jayalakshmi emerged winner in the girls’ 2.5km event with Malleshwari Rathod taking the second spot and R Usha ending up third.

Results: Men’s (12km): Parasappa Harijol (SAI, Bangalore), 1; Kanakappa S Donni (Mundaragi), 2; Lingaraj Haliyal (Dharwad), 3. 

Women (6km): Thippava Sanakki (Mysore) 22:05, 1; KM Archana (Alvas Moodbidri) 23:00, 2; BK Supriya 25:01, 3.

Boys (2.5km): Mohammad Nurul (Alva’s, Moodbidri) 8:20.42, 1; Lakshman (DYAS, Vidyanagar, Bangalore) 8:23.00, 2; S Thejas (KK High School, Bangalore) 8:26.65, 3. 
Girls (2.5km): Jayalakshmi (Alva’s, Moodbidiri) 9:28.61, 1; Malleshwari Rathod (Bijapur) 9:52.03, 2; R Usha (DYAS, Vidyanagar) 10:01.61, 3. 

(Published 29 June 2014, 17:46 IST)

Follow us on