Get Oz visa and travel to NZ for World Cup

Get Oz visa and travel to NZ for World Cup

Get Oz visa and travel to NZ for World Cup

There is some good news for cricket buffs ahead of the ICC World Cup scheduled to be held in Australia and New Zealand from January.

Fans travelling to Australia and New Zealand for the World Cup will only have to apply for an Australian visitor visa to get into both countries, making it cheaper and easier to travel to matches.

Earlier this month, New Zealand Immigration Minister Michael Woodhouse announced to media that during a ten-week window around the tournament — January 26 and April 5, 2015 — the country will grant a visa on arrival to all visitors who already hold an acceptable Australian visa, allowing time for tourist activities as well as the matches.

“This will make it easier for cricket fans to follow their team in both countries, and encourage those who may not have planned to visit New Zealand, to do so,” he said.
Through the Advance Passenger Processing system used by both countries, authorities will be able to determine if an airline passenger holds an acceptable Australian visa at the time they board their flight.

Visitors can expect to pay Rs 6321 (Aus $115) for an Australian tourist visa to cover both countries, instead of having to also pay the New Zealand tourist visa fee of  Rs 7585 (Aus $138). Australian immigration expects to issue at least 6000 to 7000 visas for Indians alone during the period. 

Australia’s Assistant Minister for Immigration and Border Protection, Senator Michaelia Cash added that people already in the country on most permanent or temporary visa types will also be able to take advantage of the trans-Tasman agreement.

India’s first match is against Pakistan in Adelaide on February 15, 2015, the opening weekend of the tournament. The tournament kicks off on February 14 with New Zealand taking on Sri Lanka in Christchurch, while on the same day in Melbourne, co-host Australia will go head to head with England. A total of 49 matches will be played across 14 venues — seven in Australia and seven in New Zealand.