Bengaluru FC drub ASC to clinch Puttaiah Memorial

Bengaluru FC drub ASC to clinch Puttaiah Memorial
Bengaluru FC (BFC) drubbed Army Service Corps (ASC) 8-1 to lift their maiden Puttaiah Memorial Cup at the Bangalore Football Stadium here on Saturday.

Goals from Sunil Chhetri (16th, 78th), Sean Rooney (60th, 75th), Rino Anto (20th), Udanta Singh (21st) and Eugeneson Lyngdoh (44th) guided BFC, while Ramesh scored the consolation goal for ASC in the 76th minute.

With the new season less than a month away, Ashley Westwood brought his best team, which saw Chhetri, along with foreigners John Johnson and new man Josh Walker being named in the starting line-up.

The team went up in the third minute in what was their first attacking move. Chhetri’s delightful ball from left flank found Udanta who headed in the ball with great composure.
Playing in the final competitive game at the Bengaluru Football Stadium — which will be rebuilt for the upcoming FIFA U-17 World Cup in 2017— BFC made it 2-0 minutes later. Chhetri scored from the penalty spot after winger Thoi Singh was brought down by ASC shot-stopper Balwanth inside the penalty box.

Rino Anto made things worse as he scored to make it 3-0.. The Army men soon lost their hold in the match as BFC went ahead to add another one to their tally. Eugeneson finding the back of the net to extend the lead to 4-0 just before the half-time after Chhetri set him up with a clever pass.

The second half, was no different as BFC continued their dominating show. While an M Raj own goal in the 52nd minute made it 5-0 for the blue brigade, a Rooney brace in the 60th and the 75th minute took the score to 7-0. Chhetri put the final nail in the ASC coffin as he doubled his personal tally.

Results: Prasanna Kumar Memorial Cup: AGORC 1 (Murli 40+1) bt BUFC 1 (Naresh 25th) via penalties.

Puttaiah Memorial Cup: Bengaluru FC 8 ( Udanta 21st, Chhetri 16th, 78th, Rino 20th, Eoyeneson 44th, M Raj  52nd O/g, Rooney 60th, 75th) bt ASC 1 (Ramesh 76th).

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0