'Priority for basic amenities'

Bengaluru Divisional Railway Manager Sanjeev Agarwal said, basic amenities have been upgraded in Bengaluru division and the railways will be spending Rs 35 crore this year for the benefit of passengers.

Addressing media persons, in Mandya, on Wednesday, he said, priority will be accorded for construction of people-friendly and environmental-friendly toilets.


The SWR has so far replaced conventional toilets with bio-toilets in 225 coaches out of a total 2,300 coaches.

It has set a target to complete the work by 2021. Wi-Fi facility is being introduced in A and B grade stations. Plans are on to replace paper ticket system and is being introduced on an experimental basis in Chennai and Mumbai.

The facility would be introduced in Bengaluru also on an experimental basis soon, he added.

Senior Divisional Commercial Manager Dr Anup Dayanand Sadhu said, he has received a lot of complaints on poor maintenance of cleanliness and hygiene during his travel to Mandya from Bengaluru.

The passengers have also suggested an increase in the number of coaches on trains that run between Bengaluru and Mysuru. Steps would be taken in this regard, he said.

Trolley path

Inconveniences faced by senior citizens while crossing the track has been brought to our notice. Taking this into consideration, there are plans to construct a trolley path to cross over to platforms, he assured.

Waiting room

Responding to the complaints that the waiting hall in Mandya railway station is not open for use and kept closed always, he directed the station master to look into the matter.

Senior Divisional Engineer Lakshman Singh, Bengaluru Divisional South Western Railways Mazdoor Union secretary Raghavendra and others were present.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)