Marithibbegowda is new Council deputy chairman

Marithibbegowda  is new Council deputy chairman

JD(S) MLC Marithibbegowda (in pic) was elected deputy chairman of the Legislative Council on Saturday.

Marithibbegowda , who garnered 42 votes, defeated Congress candidate Dharmasena by 13 votes. He secured a clear majority with all the 42 members of the BJP and the JD(S) put together voting for him, while the 29 Congress members voted for their nominee Dharmasena.

The post fell vacant following the resignation of JD(S) MLC Puttanna recently, in accordance with an internal understanding that he would vacate the post after serving for one year. Marithibbegowda would hold the post for a matching period.

On Friday, however, the Congress sprang a surprise by announcing its candidate, though it did not have the required support. Until then it was assumed that Marithibbegowda would be elected unopposed. While floor leader S R Patil hailed him as an “aggressive parliamentarian”, leader of the opposition K S Eshwarappa branded him as “sabhatyagada veera” (Hero of House boycotts).

Marithibbegowda , who recalled his political journey over the last 30 years, said that leaders, including former prime minister H D Deve Gowda and Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, were his political mentors. Gowda who started his political career with the JD(S), moved on to the Congress, after which he re-contested from the teacher’s constituency in Malavalli as an Independent. Gowda later returned to the JD(S) and has served as a member of the Mysore University syndicate and senate.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)