Bangalore Polo Season from today

Bangalore Polo Season from today

The Bangalore Polo Season will begin Thursday at the ASC Riding and Polo Academy (ARPA) at Agram Ground, ASC Centre.

The season will be played in three categories, beginning with the four-goal ARPA Cup (August 20-23). The six-goal Gyanjyoti Cup will be held from August 24-26, a knock-out event for physically handicapped individuals. 

The season will culminate with an eight-goal Bangalore Cup for senior citizens, which will be held from August 27-30.

The tournament will feature four army teams; ARPA, ASC (New Delhi), Indian Navy Polo and Equestrian Club (Mumbai) and Remount Veterinary Corps (Meerut), who will participate in the ARPA Cup. 

The tournament, however, will not feature any civilian team this edition. Lt Col Ashok Kumar, secretary of the organising committee, said: “This year, our schedule is such that a number of national teams that have participated on yearly basis, have not been able to join us. In previous years, we have had teams from Hyderabad, Mumbai and Delhi participating in this event.”

Defending champions RVC will take on ARPA in the opening fixture of the ARPA Cup while ASC, who claimed the double in 2014 winning the Gyanjyoti and Bangalore Cup, will face Navy in Friday’s fixture.