Top seeds Kallolkar, Shivani in title round

Last Updated 25 August 2015, 19:01 IST

Top seed Tejas Kallolkar beat third-seeded Bhargav S Gowda 21-17, 21-15 to book his place in the under-15 boys’ singles final of the State Sub-junior ranking badminton tournament on Tuesday.

Tejas will face seventh seed Saket CS, who defeated Ajinkya Joshi 21-19, 21-10.
Meanwhile in the under-15 girls’ section, top-seeded Shivani A Pathi eased past Advika Ganesh 21-14, 21-18.

Shivani will take on the third-seeded Trisha Hegde, who prevailed over seventh-seeded Medha Shashidharan 21-16, 21-18 in the other semifinal.

In the under-13 boys’ singles category, top-seeded Naren S Iyer cruised to a 21-13, 21-10 victory over unseeded Sujal Shekar and booked his place in the finals.
In the tile round, Naren will lock horns with second seed Vishesh Sharma.

Vishesh was pushed hard but eventually previaled over Saneeth S Dayanand 21-18, 2--20.

In the girls’ singles, Kriti Bharadwaj will face Tanya Hemanth in the final.
Results: All semifinals (prefix denotes seedings): Boys: U-15: Singles: 1-Tejas Kallolkar bt 3-Bhargav S Gowda 21-17, 21-15; 7-Saket CS bt Ajinkya Joshi 21-19, 21-10

Doubles: 4-Pruthvi Roy K/ Saket CS bt 1-Ajinkya Joshi/ Tejas Kallolkar 21-19, 21-19; 3-Chinmaya Venkatesh/ Srikar Rajesh bt 2-Bhargav S Gowda/ Mohitgowda Palaksha 21-11, 21-11.

U-13: Singles: 1-Naren S Iyer bt Sujal Shekar 21-13, 21-10; 2-Vishesh Sharma bt 6-Saneeth S Dayanand 21-18, 22-20.

Doubles: 1-Suhas V/ Vishesh Sharma bt 4-Devdutt Hangal/ Sujnyan Ulhas Kini 21-15, 21-15; 3-Aditya Diwakar/ Chiranjeevi Reddy S bt 2-Santrupth HV/ Sujal Shekar 21-16, 21-13.

Girls: U-15: 1-Shivani A Pathi bt Advika Ganesh 21-14, 21-18; 3-Trisha Hegde bt 7-Medha Shashidharan 21-16, 21-18.

Doubles: 1-Drithi Yatheesh/ Trisha Hegde bt 4-Sheethal D/ Shivani A Pathi 20-22, 21-11, 21-16; 2-Ananya Praveen/ Medha Shashidharan bt 3-Keerthana P Shroff/ Tanya Hemanth 21-13, 21-9.

U-13: Singles: 5-Kriti Bharadwaj bt Varsha Bhat 21-12, 17-21, 21-8; 2-Tanya Hemanth bt Anushka Ganesh 21-11, 20-22, 21-18.

Doubles: 1-Kriti Bharadwaj/ Tanya Hemanth bt Kushi Athreya/ Varsha Bhat 21-10, 18-21, 21-8; 3-Janani Ananthkuma/ Shraddha Hegde bt 2-Niyati Prabhu N/ Shruti Moghe 21-18, 22-20.

(Published 25 August 2015, 19:01 IST)

Follow us on