'Vote for BJP in panchayat polls, wake up govt from deep slumber'

'Vote for BJP in panchayat polls, wake up govt from deep slumber'

Former minister S Suresh Kumar said various popular programmes implemented by the previous BJP government in the State have been discontinued by the present Congress-led government.

Speaking at a BJP workers’ convention in Bantwal on Thursday, Suresh Kumar said the Siddaramaiah-led State government is in a deep slumber and the people have to wake it by electing BJP in the upcoming Taluk and Zilla Panchayat elections.

He said the chief minister has been protecting cattle thieves, poachers and sand mafia in the State. He has not removed Social Welfare Minister Anjaneya, who is involved in a bribery case, from the Cabinet. The negligence by the government towards the appointment of Upalokayukta has tarnished the image of the State, he alleged.

He ridiculed the government’s move to impose tax on patients in hospitals. District BJP unit President Prathap Simha Nayak said Congress will possibly follow negative tactics to attract voters during elections and hence, the BJP workers have to be careful.

MP Nalin Kumar Kateel said the government has failed to provide a package to farmers like the one Kerala state government has implemented. Even though the people of Dakshina Kannada and Kolar have been protesting against the Yettinahole project, the government is batting for the project and Rs 13,000 crore has been misappropriated, he said.

The MP said massive protests will be staged from next week to provide justice to the farmers with regard to Kumki land rights.

“The entire world is looking at India. Leaders like Barack Obama have been appreciating the administration of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. But, Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi and others are trying to divert the attention of people towards other issues,” he charged.

MLC Kota Srinivas Poojary said there are seven MLAs, including three ministers in the district. But they have been silent over the murder of innocent like Prashant Poojary.

Pushparaj Belthangadi joined the party on the occasion. Zilla Panchayat President Asha Timmappa Gowda, former Zilla Panchayat President Koragappa Naika, K T Shailaja Bhat, former vice president Dhanalakshmi Janardhan, Nithesh Shetty, Sathish Kumpala and others were felicitated.

Former minister Krishna Palemar, MLA Angara, former MLA A Rukmaya Poojary, N Yogish Bhat, K Padmanabha Kottari, Kumble Sundar Rao, K Jayaram Shetty, Balakrishna Bhat, K Prabhakar Bangera, K Monappa Bhandary, Mallika R Prasad, Sulochana G K Bhat, Ganesh Rao, Prabha Malini and others were present.